Transparent Status Bar and Shade for Rooted Droid!

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by teenfaces, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. ZeRo_C0oL
    Offline

    ZeRo_C0oL New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Looks great! Thanks!
  2. MoeDaddy
    Offline

    MoeDaddy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Awesome!

    great work!
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2009
  3. Zindrix
    Offline

    Zindrix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a question, maybe this is more of a request, but would it be possible to easily change it to a black notification bar with a blue battery fill color?

    I saw it on a GDE Enoch Theme, and I really find it attractive. To be honest, that is the only reason I want to root my phone just to change it to that color.
  4. MoeDaddy
    Offline

    MoeDaddy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The battery fill images are there too so are many other buttons and status display images... I'd assume they can be edited as the status bar was.
  5. jmccarthy14
    Offline

    jmccarthy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So you can replace the notification bar png with a transparent one? The major reason I use home++ is how fantastic a droid screen looks without that big white bar taking up space from its wallpaper. Transparent one with floating text may be a good hybrid, and and I can use GDE (cube + not crashing on pure widgets)?
  6. cgunn82
    Offline

    cgunn82 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so I went through the BusyBox instructions but how do you know if its on there or not? Also when I rename the .zip file to .apk it still adds .zip at the end.
  7. gardobus
    Offline

    gardobus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Go into Folder Options and turn off "add extension to known file types" or whatever. I'm on a mac right now so I can't tell you the exact wording. I think its in the "tools" menu when your inside any folder in My Computer.
  8. cgunn82
    Offline

    cgunn82 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks that worked. Think I may have figured out the BusyBox.
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2009
  9. jjast73
    Offline

    jjast73 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    instructions are spot on. worked as expected.

    note: after reboot and signing back into the market place, I notice that I can't install any apps... just says "dowloading........" and nothing. If I stop and restart the download/install, still nothing. I tried this over wifi (which worked prior to change), and also without wifi.

    Hope it will work after another reboot. If not, I'll just undo the changes (good thing I backed up my framework-res.apk (I copied the whole /system/framework dir to my /sdcard =)
  10. bots
    Offline

    bots New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Teenfaces I was just curious how you went about signing that apk, Is it the same way one would sign an apk in android 1.5? Or is there a new method?
  11. s2k_848
    Offline

    s2k_848 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for sharing. I like the transparency!
  12. Jerome
    Offline

    Jerome New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    what would the insructions be to revert back if needed
  13. Manigma77
    Offline

    Manigma77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I would backup the original first before doing this, that is why I have not tried this yet, If someone could please post the instructions for backing up the framework apk it would be greatly appreciated.


    Can someone please post ORIGINAL framework-res.apk
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2009
  14. Flowah
    Offline

    Flowah New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, I get to step 8 and it says "operation not permitted" when I try to mount. I've followed the directions to the letter.

    First I upgraded to 2.0.1
    Then I rooted the phone
    Then I tried to busybox.

    Ideas?
  15. Manigma77
    Offline

    Manigma77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is mine, with some red highlights and a more transparent top and bottom bar. Thanx Teenfaces, couldn't have done it without you....

    It's skinning Time!!!! :icon_ banana:
  16. JoJoCal19
    Offline

    JoJoCal19 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    Nice work on the transparent shade. Question though, are you running Sense UI on your Droid? If so can you direct me to the appropriate place to get/do this?
  17. kobebeanbrynt
    Offline

    kobebeanbrynt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not the most advanced person to technology past my xbox so I need help... I havebthe new software for my motorola droid which is 2.0.1. All I want is to change the notification bar on my droid.. and I need help.. with the new software am I rooted, I need these questions asked... I just want the transparent bar for my droid asap without damaging my phone .. someone please help
  18. Jordie
    Offline

    Jordie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What app is that on the bottom of your screen the 6 icons, phone, voice, and etc..?
  19. ironosity
    Offline

    ironosity New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That would be Home++. Free home replacement screen. I"m torn between whether I like this or Open Home better. This seems to FC on me more then Open home...But I like the more convenient button on the bottom.
  20. blackngray70
    Offline

    blackngray70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I've noticed this site isn't much for helping newbies out. Not a single question I've asked has ever been answered.

    Good luck:)
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2009
Search tags for this page

android transparent status bar

,
badass wallpaper
,

nikon wallpaper

,
status bar android transparent
,
status bar apk
,
status bar launcher apk
,
status bar transparent android
,
transparent cp apk
,
transparent status bar
,

transparent status bar android

,
transparent status bar apk
,
transparent statusbar busybox