Transferring everything to other Droid?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by stanwelks, Dec 22, 2009.

  1. stanwelks
    Offline

    stanwelks Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am going to switch to another Droid. From what I understand, it will automatically transfer my contacts and calendar.

    1. Can I make it also transfer all of my apps?
    2. Can I also make it place the icons for each app on each screen in the locations that I already set them up in?

    Thanks.
  2. MoeDaddy
    Offline

    MoeDaddy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your Droid is rooted you can make a nandroid backup and then restore it to your new phone...
  3. stanwelks
    Offline

    stanwelks Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    not rooted, not even sure what that means...
  4. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I believe when you register again with your gmail addy, the market will have your apps ready for redownload, records are kept ...

    You can resetup shortcuts at your leisure.
  5. nickv84
    Offline

    nickv84 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The market will have your paid apps but not the freebies unfortunately.
  6. sillyrabbitt123
    Offline

    sillyrabbitt123 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why would you have to root to do this.

    Do you think someone will make an app that does a true backup of everything. I mean everything? So like the OP is asking about where they wouldnt have to do anything but restore the phone. Shorcuts, widgets etc... would be there.

    Sprite backup did this for the most part 5 years ago on winmo.
  7. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download "my back up" and back up to your SD card. When you get your new phone up. Go back to the market and redownload my back. the restore. All done
  8. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is not true. if you've allowed Google to backup your settings, all of your apps will be downloaded once your new device is registered with your original gmail account.

    it may take a while to get all of the apps, but they will eventually download.

    any customizations to ringtones, settings, shortcuts, widgets and cookies will be lost.

    bookmarks, wifi networks, apps, contacts and appointments will be restored.
  9. sillyrabbitt123
    Offline

    sillyrabbitt123 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweet! so its "my backup" is what I need?

    And this will backup widgets (placements and settings of those widgets), shortcuts, folders, shortcuts to direct dials etc etc etc?

    thanks


    So its not possible ? :(
  10. Erich_F
    Offline

    Erich_F Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, this is true. You will also have to rebuild your home screen layouts. During my GPS fiasco, I wiped the phone about 5 times.

    Using a backup app will allow for a complete rebuild, though.
  11. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    i've been through three DROIDs and several Restores... i'm pratically a pro at starting over. lol.
  12. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    i don't know if other backup apps have the ability to read your custom settings or not. what would it hurt, other than time, to try it out?

    i think the most difficult part is getting all of your apps back. getting them on your desktop is easy.
  13. Erich_F
    Offline

    Erich_F Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, I found it the other way around. Your apps re-install automatically in about 5 minutes (depending on size and amount). Rebuilding the home screens, with shortcuts, widgets, wallpapers, etc takes the most time. Then, there's logging back into your favorite websites all over again, because the cookies are all gone.

    Edit: One thing not mentioned here...if you uninstalled apps through your phone, but not the through the Market...they will be re-installed upon reset. If you don't want any of those back, go to the Market Downloads tab and uninstall there.
  14. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    i meant if you had to go and search for them all.. which you don't, which makes it easy. but yeah.
  15. sillyrabbitt123
    Offline

    sillyrabbitt123 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help! However, I am still unclear on which app will backup

    settings meaning all the programs I setup to my liking color schemes etc etc etc
    widgets
    home screen(s) all the icons and programs in their particular place that I put them (if you use home ++ or the like)

    is it my back up pro?

    thanks



    thanks