Transferring contacts from blackberry to droid

Discussion in 'Droid X FAQ' started by ultrastigi, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. ultrastigi

    ultrastigi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +1
    I got the droid X online from VZW and i go to the store to have them transfer my contacts and they want me to pay for it since I didn't get it in store. I wanted to know how I can transfer them with out paying them to do it?

    I tried using bluetooth to send the contacts and it said it downloaded but i dont see it anywhere. I really don't wanna type them in by hand because its over 100 contacts.
     
  2. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
  3. goracer

    goracer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went through this last month and posted a thread. I was extremely upset for waiting an hour before they told me they would charge $10 and I was starving. COuld have just ate lunch instead.

    Anyhow, what you need to do is:

    Transfer all phone contacts from SIM to phone.
    (Note: if you don't move to phone then only email adresses and not phone #'s will be synced)
    Use older v5 BB desktop software and sync to Yahoo
    From yahoo you save (export) to your pc as CSV file
    from your pc you upload (import) to gmail
    or create a yahoo email account on droidx and set it to sync

    There may be an option to sync to outlook but BB does not support 64bit software (Office 2010) and neither does Motorola tools.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2010
  4. Hurtem

    Hurtem Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are two easier methods to do this.

    Google Sync

    Go here m.google.com/sync from your blackberry assuming it's activated. Download the app and setup or sign into a gmail account. Your Cal and Contacts will upload to your gmail account.

    When the Droid X is activated, sign in with the same gmail account to have your data restored.

    Backup Assistant

    As long as your BB is verizon with the latest version of software (5.x) and it is still activated, you can download backup assistant and then upload your contacts with the app (my account online).

    Proceed to activate the Droid X, during the setup you will be promted to initiate Backup Assistant again which all you have to do is enter your pin to restore contacts which was set up on the BB.

    Google Sync

    Go here m.google.com/sync from your blackberry assuming it's activated. Download the app and setup or sign into a gmail account. Your Cal and Contacts will upload to your gmail account.

    When the Droid X is activated, sign in with the same gmail account to have your data restored.
     
  5. ultrastigi

    ultrastigi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +1
    My droid was activated before i backed up everything. So now my bb is just sittin there. I got the contacts but it was in a different file format. I wish i didn't rush and activate my dx. But i couldn't help it. Got it in the mail and couldn't wait any longer. Guess that's what i get for impatient

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  6. ecfiffer

    ecfiffer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    so were you able to get your contacts? i ended up exporting my wifes bb contacts as a csv via desktop manager and importing them into gmail (going to gmail.com). when they are in the google cloud you are golden. i fyou need help with it PM me. I can try to walk you through it.
     
  7. deoncollins69

    deoncollins69 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Contacts

    I had a BB Storm 1 and used the bluetooth to bluetooth contacts export. I had no issues doing so even after My droid was activated and the BB was deactivated. It pulled right in.
     
  8. fish1552

    fish1552 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I had to bluetooth my wife's from her LG Dare to my Droid as individual .vcf files. (Not sure if BB does exports in that format?) Then I imported each one individually to gMail contacts using the website and then synced her phone. When I did it, it included everything she had - emails, phone numbers, addresses, etc.
     
  9. ultrastigi

    ultrastigi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +1
    It said that the contacts were transfered but i don't see them in the phone. I did it twice so the files are on my phone somewhere i just don't know where.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  10. DayDay

    DayDay New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used mIQ Live... It is a free application. You just download the app from the Blackberry App world, it will automatically backup all your contacts and all the other data you want. (This can be done off wifi even when phone is not active) Then you download the app onto your droid and just log in to sync up all your data. Very Easy.
     
  11. ultrastigi

    ultrastigi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks. When i get home im gonna try that. I can still access appworld even if the phone isn't activated?

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  12. Riveyman

    Riveyman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you go to a Verizon Corporate store or a authorized retailer ?
    I took all 4 of my phones (whole family) to a Corp. store and they transferred contact info for all of them to the new phones, no charge.
    OH, and I got all the new phones via online.
    I've had issues with the authorized retailer that is right down the road. They are liars and scumbags in that place. Needless to say, I don't go in there anymore.
     
  13. goracer

    goracer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you don't transfer your phone contacts from your SIM to your :blackberry: then they will not transfer and sinc to your :motdroidvert:. It will only transfer emails. AS I said, I went through the same thing.

    No, you can not access or use appworld if you don't have service + internet on BB.

    If you had yahoo app installed then BB software will transfer to yahoo email. You can then setup you yahoo email on DX and sync.

    If you have outlook (will not work with 2010 or 64 bit) then you can export and/or sync to outlook, then you can import to google.
     
  14. goracer

    goracer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went to a large corporate verizon store. Had to wait a half hour. The guy wanted email and password for google. A half hour later he wants email and password for yahoo and says it will be $10. I complained to Verizon (611) but they only apologized.
     
  15. ultrastigi

    ultrastigi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +1
    One was a retailer and the other was a corp. The corp one i went to was shady i hate goin there. If transferin using the app the one guy told me bout doesn't work im gonna try another corp store.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
blackberry desktop software for android
,
how do i transfer contact from my blackberry curve to my droid maxx
,
how to restore contacts from blackberry backup to android
,
how to transfer contacts from blackberry to lg phone
,

restore contacts from blackberry to android

,
restore from blackberry to android
,
transfer contacts from blackberry to droid
,
transfering contacts from blackberry to droid
,
transferring data from blackberry to samsung galaxy rush
,
transferring files from blackberry to droid