Touchscreen responsiveness v iPod Touch...Whats the deal?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by SuperCoolClos, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hmmm....Who told ^^^ this guy that real technical information was relevant to these discussions?
     
  2. rkeller62

    rkeller62 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    roflmao - I don't know, I think it might be a first on this forum! The nerve of some people.
     
  3. Kmart95

    Kmart95 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    i own a droid and an ipod touch and i love both devises. and i have to agree the touch is much smoother when switching homescreens. but on the ipod/iphone u just get a few rows of square icons and a plain black backround. on android you can add really neat widgets and good looking, detailed wallpapers and live wallpapers. not really sure if that explains why android is slower but all i know is i prefer the way my droids homescreen looks alot more than my ipod so im ok with the fact that it is a little slower

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. iPirate

    iPirate Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why would Google use something that wont take advantage of the GPU?
     
  5. rkeller62

    rkeller62 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well one good reason would be that most Android phones don't have a GPU. Even the new Snapdragon phones don't have one.

    Don't forget that Apple has full control of hardware and software, so they can be sure that all devices will use a GPU.
     
  6. Champers

    Champers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    And the award goes to [drumroll] THIS GUY!

    [​IMG]
     
  7. iPirate

    iPirate Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google should release 2.2 and require a GPU. Just cause htc releases a lot of phones doesn't mean they should define android
     
  8. JonKyu

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed...lolI don't think our Droid's GPUs are used enough! :(
     
  9. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    My friend, I suggest you do a little research before you post. A Snapdragon chipset most definitely DOES contain a GPU; designed by AMD (ATI division). It's called the AMD Z430. I'm pretty sure that most previous Qualcomm chipsets contained an ATI based GPU as well, since all of these devices are somewhat capable of running OpenGL titles. The problem is, the AMD GPU in the Snapdragon has about half the pixel fillrate of the Droid's PowerVR SGX 530 - it has better triangle performance, but the fillrate frankly sucks.

    (It is the ATI GPU that explains WHY the Neocore benchmark performs better on Qualcomm chipsets. ATI uses a different form of texture compression than PowerVR. On a Qualcomm device, the benchmark is using compressed textures. On the Droid's OMAP, it is not. That's why the HTC Hero's framerate beats the Droid on that test)
     
  10. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    All Android devices contain a GPU that is OpenGL compliant. End of story. Even the MSM7201A in the HTC Dream (G1) contains an OpenGL ES compliant GPU.

    MSM7000-series wiki:

    MSM7000 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
     
  11. chaosz3ro

    chaosz3ro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    uh huh. well I had an iphone 3G and 3GS before I got my droid and used a third party hack for multitasking on both and everything was still smoother than android.

    your turn
     
  12. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    The only reason that comes to mind is ease of 3rd party app development. Remember, Apple doesn't have such things as homescreen widgets to worry about. The iPhone's "home screen" is more akin to the Android app drawer than anything else. Everything that it does is "Apple approved".
     
Search tags for this page
ipod touch screen compared to android
,
ipod touch screen jumping
,

why do android touchscreens suck?