Touchscreen problems with my droid 2 global!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by Berchtwald, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. Berchtwald
    Offline

    Berchtwald New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had my D2G for a couple of months and it's been working perfectly up until now. When I lock the screen and then unlock it again (using the lock button), it will stop responding to my touch. The phone keeps working perfectly (I can tell that because I can raise the volume etc. using the proper buttons) but it won't respond to touch. After I do a battery pull it works normally until I lock the screen again.
    Please help me I can't have the phone exchanged and I can't afford a new one.
    Thanks in advance
  2. Benton
    Offline

    Benton New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Other than a battery pull, what have you done to get around this? Have you tried a factory reset? Are you running roms? Have you frozen apps, removed bloat, etc? The description you gave is understandble but doesn't eliminate enough possibilities yet to easily offer up suggestions without creating a long list.
  3. Berchtwald
    Offline

    Berchtwald New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried the factory reset. Sorry but I don't know what the others are lol, can you explain yourself a little more? Thank you. (Also tried cleaning the screen in case that was the problem, but still nothing.)
  4. Benton
    Offline

    Benton New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is the phone consistent in the problem like...it always (100% of the time) does this when you lock the screen or is it at times it does this? I ask this since I have had issues with the screen not being able to unlock if the phone had been outside or in high humidity and was warm. If this is the case, I am not sure there is much of a fix for this as I feel it has something to do wtih the humidity condensing on screen interior and desensitizing the touch function, there is another thread on this in this forum named Droid 2 Global reoccuring touchscreen issues and there are other threads as well to check. You can search the forums by typing in some key words in the search box located on the top right area of the forum home. Let us know on the frequency of the issue.
  5. Berchtwald
    Offline

    Berchtwald New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes this happens every time I lock and unlock the screen. I don't think the humidity is causing this. If the screen stays unlocked then the phone works fine.
  6. Byakushiki
    Offline

    Byakushiki New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Usea
    Seems like there's more bad D2G's going around recently, is this a used/refurb?
  7. Berchtwald
    Offline

    Berchtwald New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It has been for a short time by my uncle, but it was alright when I got it.
  8. Benton
    Offline

    Benton New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is everything else on your screen functional and in all areas (this is tough to check since most apps only use unique parts of the screen. If there is a dead spot on the screen right where the slider is positioned it could be a hardware issue. Open sometime that would use all portions of the screen or at least the portions where the slider would normally be positioned when in the unlock screen and check out the full wide of the slide-bar position for sensitivity/reaction.

    Edited add-on: Are you running Froyo or the GB leak? People are reporting a big improvement with the unlock screen on the GB leak versus Froyo.
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2011
  9. Berchtwald
    Offline

    Berchtwald New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't actually know, I haven't updated my phone either manually or using the phone update checker. The OS version is 2.4.330. Should I try The GB leak? (Sorry for being a newbie, I don't know much things for my phone yet)
    Edit: I'm guessing I have froyo right?
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2011
  10. Benton
    Offline

    Benton New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, 330 is Froyo. I don't know your warranty situation with the phone in case this is hardware and you could get it exchanged or not. If you install the GB leak and if it did not cure the issue and you wanted to return the phone to Verizon for a warranty exchange you would need to go back to Froyo first. Complex isn't it?
  11. MegaThrasher
    Offline

    MegaThrasher New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im having touchscreen problems too. My phone was acting like I was touching it when I was not. It gets especially bad when I plug it into the wall charger. Sbfing from fission to stock helped, but didn't eliminate the problem. Should I just sbf back from GB leak and take it into VZ?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  12. Benton
    Offline

    Benton New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That may be the fast track.
  13. Berchtwald
    Offline

    Berchtwald New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I updated to GB leaked. The problem is still continuing and it happens only if I lock the phone. I don't think it's a hardware problem because as long as I don't lock the screen since the last reboot, than I can use it normally at any slider position and every part of the screen. Isn't there any solution apart from having to send it back to vzw? Thank you for your help.
  14. Jay_od_ua
    Offline

    Jay_od_ua New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an issue with touchscreen once in a while. It may start to act like I'm pressing the same area many times or may not react at all. Sometimes screen is shaking like I'm trying to flip screens but not pulling to side enough. Changing stock ROM to CM7 gave no difference. Looks like it's a hardware problem because I'm getting it when the phone is hot (charging, playing games, on the sun etc.) Cooling down and lock/unlock helps every time.
    BTW, I've broken digitizer, can anyone advice me a store or Seller on eBay to get new one from? Are these Chinese digitizers OK?
  15. rumel1988
    Offline

    rumel1988 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this problem too. then I dry my droid 2 Global under sun 4-5hrs and till now working fine without touchscreen issue. :)
  16. rumel1988
    Offline

    rumel1988 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know it sounds like funny! lol
    but it worked for me ;)
  17. MegaThrasher
    Offline

    MegaThrasher New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is the exact same problem mine has and it almost always happens when its plugged into the charger and sometimes when its not plugged in. Ive sbf'ed and im taking it into Verizon when I get the chance.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  18. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I've had that same thing happening to me on my Milestone 1 too. To 'fix' it, simply hold phone in hand or at least somewhere on the metal surrounding of the screen, to sorta ground it. Had that happening on D2g but much more seldom. I think it is a hardware design issue of sort.

    Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk
  19. rumel1988
    Offline

    rumel1988 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I unlock My Droid 2 Global by eBay Code 2 days now. now again touch screen doing bull ****! :mad: some aria on right side stop working now, it was left side before Unlock!
    screenshot: View image: 20110905154659

    if i pull the battery for a while then reinsert the battery and power it on the touchscreen works good for limited time. then it again right side stop working. what's the problem with all Moto Droid? do I need to change the digitizer to work the touch as good?
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2011
  20. rumel1988
    Offline

    rumel1988 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    please anyone let me know who had problem like this. will touch screen work back if i change the Digitizer? i mean some time touch is work great then stop working!!! don't know software or hardware issue? :blink: if anyone gets succeed with changing the Digitizer then let me know hurry. :)
    please i need to fix this urgently!! :(
Search tags for this page
droid 2 global touch screen not working
,

droid 2 global touch screen problems

,
droid 2 global touch screen wont unlock
,
droid global wont unlock
,
droid x2 global help with screen issues
,

how to fix droid 2 global touch screen

,
motorola droid 2 global screen problems
,

motorola droid 2 global touch screen problems

,
motorola droid2 global part of screen not woring
,
my droid 2 global touch screen wont work
,
why isn't my droid global responding on the touch screen
,
why isnt my home button on my droid 2 global working