Touch Screen Quit Working

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by Andyman74, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. Andyman74

    Andyman74 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I backed up my rom, formated and loaded a new rom and now the touch screen doesn't work. Doesn't mater what I load back in..even the rom I backed up, It loads to the lock screen and touch screen won't work. Any one have a fix or know why this is happening?
     
  2. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    you get this fixed andy?
     
  3. Andyman74

    Andyman74 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I flashed it w/RSD lite and still no go.
     
  4. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    If nothing is working sounds like a hardware malfunction, are you within your 30 days?
     
  5. Andyman74

    Andyman74 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I bought it back in November.
     
  6. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    I would say call verizon and see what they can do, don't mention rooting of course, and if they can't do anything try motorola then insurance. Might be out 90 bucks but better than nothing. I don't think rooting caused the problem.
     
  7. Andyman74

    Andyman74 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where does the $90 come into play? Can I get a replacement from Verizon for this? What about insurance? Thanks for your help.
     
  8. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    I do belive the deductable fo insurance is $90. but call verizon they might be able to help. The manufactures warranty is for 1 year so they might be able to help.
     
  9. Andyman74

    Andyman74 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    exchanged for a new one..$0 Hopefully I can keep my hands out of this one :) ....but I doubt it.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2010
  10. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    I thought that would be the price you'd be charged.

    These phones come with a 1 yr warranty. With all the various mods out there if one of them was frying the screen there would be a ton of posts about it. In this case the screen died, a hardware issue which resulted in a trade for your defunct phone for a "certified like-new" phone.

    I'm not so worried about the first year. It's next year I'd be concerned.

    Glad it worked out for you.
     
  11. pudah

    pudah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Allis, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    You dont need to keep your hands out of it if it's a hardware issue. Get it back to stock so the warranty isn't voided. Then USE said warranty to get a reaplcement. It's within the 1 year coverage, so you're fine. It'll likely be a refurbished replacement, but it'll work.
     
  12. Andyman74

    Andyman74 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm already reading up on the next rom. Damn that didn't take long:)
     
  13. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    Once you get the bug a little hardware issue won't stop you. Good luck with your future mods and if anything arises.....we're here.
     
  14. glenn2350

    glenn2350 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys and gals,

    I'm having an issue with a droid 3 I bought from someone. It was working fine then out of no where the touch screen quit working. I did a hard reset, took it apart to see if anything came unplugged and nothing was unplugged.. Then out of no where it started working again... Then it stopped!! So i thought it was the digitizer.. I ordered a new one. Took everything apart put the new screen in and it still didn't work.. I took it back apart to double check every thing then boom it works! not sure if its going to stay working... Any ideas on what could be going on?? thanks!
     
  15. gezus_k

    gezus_k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also have a digitizer that for no clear reason is not working. I recently purchased a used Droid 3 with a cracked screen but in otherwise perfectly working condition. Ordered a new digitizer, took it all apart and replaced the cracked one, phone starts fine but I have no touch control (I can power off the phone using the keypad), took everything apart again to make sure all connections were secure, put it back together, still nothing...
    disassembled the phone for a third time to re-install the cracked glass, still no touch control (phone boots fine with keyboard)... I only see one connection between the digitizer and the ribbon on the back of the lcd, and one connection between that ribbon and the motherboard, all connections are tight and I see no damage anywhere... I'm lost, I'm curious what you could be doing to make it work sometimes and hope any solution you find can help me as well, Good Luck
     
Search tags for this page
droid 3 screen not working
,

droid 3 touch screen not working

,
droid 3 touch screen unresponsive
,
galaxy s3 touch screen not working
,
how to make your android phone touchscreen to work again
,
how to navigate android without touchscreen
,
touch screen quit working
,
touch screen stopped working
,
touchscreen not working droid 3
,
why would a touch screen stop working