Total Noob here

TheGoodKid

Reaction score
First off, I want to say I have looked around and the info I am looking for may be on here somewhere, but I cannot locate it. Most people loking to do what I want seem to be rooted and need to go back to .595 to allow the upcoming OTA. I am wanting to install Gingerbread on my X. I am just on stock 2.2 Froyo. I do not want to root. I think from what I am reading I need .595. So, a few questions: 1) Is this possible to do? 2) Is this very difficult to do? 3) If this is possible and not too difficult, where can I find the info on HOW to do this? I appreciate it.

Beka27

Reaction score
It sounds like you just need to wait for the official OTA update. Should be out soon, as soon as this weekend up to the next couple weeks.

OP
T

TheGoodKid

Reaction score
Thanks Beka27. If that is my safest bet, I will just do that. I am just afraid they will keep pushing the OTA back and I was just wondering if there was any other way without rooting. Thanks again.

leonozug

Reaction score
There is no possibe way to install a leaked Rom without root and a bootloader app my friend. Definitely wait for the OTA update. It'll be out before you know it.

Oh and rooting and romming the X isn't difficult. Check on youtube, there are tons of how-to videos on how to root and rom it, and SBF it. You need to know all of those steps in order to do it. Sounds daunting, but it's fun once you learn.

OP
T

TheGoodKid

Reaction score
Thanks leonozug. I have gone back and forth in my head time and again about rooting. Everyone that does it seems to swear by it and appears to dread the thought of not being able to root it seems. I think for now, I will wait, very impatiently I may add, for the OTA.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums

Beka27

Reaction score
The official GB OTA may be unrootable for a bit, so that gives you time to continue researching the topic and figure out if that is what you want to do when the time comes.