[TOOL] ezSBF

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by 1KDS, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. 1KDS
    Offline

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My pleasure, glad it worked out for ya!
  2. 1KDS
    Offline

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OP updated with new 4.5.601 version!
    Thanks joeblow789 and rabidturtles359 for testing!
    2 people like this.
  3. 1KDS
    Offline

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is/was the system version not the Android version.
  4. nhra1ss
    Offline

    nhra1ss Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have the older version that sbf's back to froyo. I have sbf'd a couple times, then taking the OTA GB. If I use the new file will that take me straight to GB, just as if I had taken the OTA? That would save some time and steps when I want to sbf for a fresh rom install.
  5. 1KDS
    Offline

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, exactly. It would flash you to 4.5.601 gingerbread just like going to froyo then taking the OTA.
    1 person likes this.
  6. nhra1ss
    Offline

    nhra1ss Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks. I will download this weekend. Really love how easy this makes sbfing, :biggrin:
  7. ATA2D
    Offline

    ATA2D New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I HAD to register to the forums just to tell you Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You !!! You are a god amongst men and saved me LOTS of $$$ on buying my son a new phone.
    1 person likes this.
  8. Kamokazi
    Offline

    Kamokazi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey 1KDS, thanks for the great tool. I've used this to SBF to Froyo a few times and it works wonders. However I'm unable to get the GB version to work. I get the phone in bootloader, it sees the USB connection, but when it's extracting and running the script, nothing happens on the phone. On the PC side it takes about a minute and then claims it's finished. When I factory reset and wipe cache, I still have CM7 and not the factory GB.

    I double-checked the MD5 on the ISO, and re-burnt it with no success. And I can SBF Froyo all day long with the exact same setup. Any ideas?
  9. 1KDS
    Offline

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It sounds like it is having trouble unzipping the sbf file, how much ram does your PC have?

    [mobile]
  10. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    edit: sorry wrong phone

    run froyo ezSBF then install 4.5.601 update.zip

    extra step but gets you there
  11. FullMetalGuitar412
    Offline

    FullMetalGuitar412 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So let me see if I understand this: I throw one of your .iso files onto a CD. Then, on a MAC or PC, run the "OS" and let it flash my phone? That's quite impressive. Now, did anyone test flashing from any other ROM with this? For example: I'm currently running Liberty 3 (GB) ROM, which installed from the OTA GB update. I can, if I want, use your .iso to flash back to FroYo and not brick my phone?

    Here's the dumb question: Looking at your screenshot of the post-flash screen where it tells you to press this and wipe that.. Your wording was confusing: What do I have to "Install again (I think it said)?"
  12. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    it doesn't matter what rom you are running, it's recommended that you wipe data after sbf

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  13. FullMetalGuitar412
    Offline

    FullMetalGuitar412 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, technically, I can switch between FroYo and GB anytime I want w/out bricking my phone? And yes, I've flashed FroYo from rooted FroYo once before. Did it on emulated linux installed onto (I believe) VM Ware. I just didn't process everything from his screenshot that I read; it said "remove the battery and reinstall" I was just skimming and saw "reinstall." sorry for the useless bother on that one!
  14. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    yes, froyo to gb and back

    fyi:the new moto updates, on other phones have blocked SBF and rooting
    Update for droid 2, is likely coming soon

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  15. pobzeb
    Offline

    pobzeb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The next hurdle...

    I ran the OTA for 2.3.4 and tried to SBF back to 2.3.20 but as pretty much everyone now knows, you brick your phone if you do that. Well, my Droid 2 is now stuck at the bootloader with the "Service Required" message and I have yet to find an SBF to get it working again. I suppose that I am looking for a 2.3.4 SBF file and I wanted to know if anyone has found one yet?

    Thanks,
    Pobzeb
  16. fletcher
    Offline

    fletcher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm stuck in this situation and sure could use a fix....

    Bootloader
    D2.35
    Err:A5,70,00,1F

    MEM_MAP Blank
    Service Req'd
    Battery OK
    OK to program
    Tranfer Mode: USB

    Hope someone gets a new SBF file out soon!
  17. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
  18. fletcher
    Offline

    fletcher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! Unfortunately I can't contribute to the fix since my 2 Droid2s are bricked but hopefully there's a new sbf to test. Nothing to lose at this point!
  19. mikelikesbikes
    Offline

    mikelikesbikes New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    Wow is all I have to say. I used this tool yesterday on my D2 and it worked flawlessly. I have never had to SBF before so I had no idea what to expect. This tool is as newbie proof as they come. Thanks to 1KDS for making this. I recently upgraded to the Razr and not really dived deep into it yet, just rooted it for now, reading up on it. I hope there is as much support for the Razr as there is for the D2. Thanks again 1KDS.
  20. fletcher
    Offline

    fletcher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You must not have installed the last OTA update which is causing these issues. I upgraded to the Razr Maxx several months ago and haven't kept up with the D2 threads which was my mistake. Went to sell my old D2s and wanted to clear all data, etc so pulled out the the trusty RSD Lite method which ALWAYS worked before and it failed. Also ran thru the latest method advertised in this thread and no dice... only hope is a leaked SBF that works with the new boot loader.
Similar Threads
  1. mikeew83
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,100
  2. 1KDS
    Replies:
    237
    Views:
    77,178
  3. Raziel23x
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,840
Loading...
Search tags for this page
1kdstaz d2 4.5.601
,
1kdstaz for nexus
,
1kds
,
droid pro slitaz
,
ez sbf
,

ezsbf

,
ezsbf download
,
ezsbf droid x
,
ezsbf droid x2
,
ezsbf x2
,
slitaz droid x
,
what is ezsbf