[TOOL] ezSBF

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by 1KDS, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. hockeyplaya2378

    hockeyplaya2378 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I recently bricked my d2 and was using this to try to fix it. Everything went great until it finished, it said the flash successfully yada yada yada just like the screenshot. Then I shut down the computer by pressing 1, unplugged my phone, took out the battery rebooted wiped data, then wiped cache, rebooted and i just keep getting the bootloader screen again. Thanks for all your hard work and please help.
    P.s I didnt get the boot baby boot screen but i got another one which i had to scroll down to the second option and select it for it to correctly boot.
     
  2. siriusgamer

    siriusgamer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlantis
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the same screen. You used the boot from USB method right?

    Well did you hold the X key while turning on the phone, and get a yellow exclamation point inside a triangle and the android mascot?
    That is the stock recovery. Press the search key on the keyboard and select clear data and clear caches. Then see if that helped.
     
  3. hockeyplaya2378

    hockeyplaya2378 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    boot from usb method?
    Edit: yes i did boot from usb . sorry i didn't get what you where you were asking. And i did everything you/the post said
     
  4. siriusgamer

    siriusgamer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlantis
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well it wouldn't hurt to try again. When the OTA GB came out, I SBF'ed my phone twice, once with ez_sbf and once with RSD Lite before I did it correctly. But what does the bootloader say? Does it just say "battery ok ready to program"
     
  5. hockeyplaya2378

    hockeyplaya2378 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did it 3 times with this program and about 5 with rsd lite. Yea the boot loader just said battery ok. ok to program. Rsd lite failed at problem switching to bp passthrough.
     
  6. Useful Idiot

    Useful Idiot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used this method to SBF from CM7 Froyo and it worked perfectly. I then got the Gingerbread OTA update. I'm getting lots of freezing and reboot issues with GB so I wanna go back to Froyo for now. Can I still use this method even though I got the OTA GB update?
     
  7. siriusgamer

    siriusgamer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlantis
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can downgrade to froyo if you use this, but you probably will get nag messages asking you to upgrade.
     
  8. nhra1ss

    nhra1ss Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got my D2 rooted a week ago, backed up everything with Titanium Pro,have some apps "frozen" and have been playing with the Droid Overclock app for the last few days. I am looking at everything I may need to be ready to step up to flashing roms. Came across this thread and made my ezSBF disc. Rebooted my laptop to see what the program looked like and what to expect. Got thru it all and exited at the screen where it asked you about having your phone connected and I just exited out from there. Just wanted to do a dry run for if I ever need to go thru this. Thanks for the info,links and work putting this all together. Looks like it will be easy for those of us that are trying to mod our phones and not really that experienced in doing it.
     
  9. thewinelover

    thewinelover New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This was the ONLY thing that worked for my Droid 2... I could KISS Y'ALL!!!! Thank you so much!!!! :icon_ lala:
     
  10. 1KDS

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Glad to help!
     
  11. thewinelover

    thewinelover New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been without my mobile for five days and without this topic & herein posts, I would NOT have had any success. As a result, I did post in XDA Devs about this tool that helped me. You guy(s) were absolutely credited for the resolution. I'm happy to provide a link to what I posted.

    I've been on XDA for many years and realize every forum has different rules/guidelines. That said, I do hope I'm not going against forum rules by posting the link on XDA Devs that helped me. If I am, let me know... I'll remove it at once.

    The MOST KIND Regards EVER!

    - TWL
     
  12. 1KDS

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    OP updated with some newer instructions and new hosting for the .iso file.
     
  13. joeblow789

    joeblow789 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks 1KDS, this is so handy! A D2 Gingerbread SBF has been released, could you put together an iso using that? http://rootzwiki.com/topic/18397-d2-sbf-for-gb-found/ If I get the time, I may try doing this myself through 7zip, which can open ISO images. If I understand correctly, rootfs.gz in the ISO is the SBF file. If so, would it be as simple as replacing that with the new file renamed to rootfs.gz (different size, MD5, etc)?
     
  14. 1KDS

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    It isn't quite that simple, the root file system is most of the OS, not just the .sbf file. No worries though, I'll get one for you guys. I will need a tester though before public release. Send me a PM if interested.
     
  15. 1KDS

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Alright guys, I have a new version done, added the ZergRush root script so you can root right after flashing if you want. I need a couple people to test it, post in this thread or send me a PM if you can test.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Similar Threads
  1. mikeew83
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,313
  2. 1KDS
    Replies:
    237
    Views:
    84,110
  3. Raziel23x
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,251
Loading...
Search tags for this page
1kds
,
1kdstaz for nexus
,
ez sbf
,

ezsbf

,
ezsbf download
,
ezsbf droid x
,
ezsbf droid x2
,
ezsbf x2
,
slitaz droid x
,
what is ezsbf