[TOOL] ezSBF D2G

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global Development' started by 1KDS, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. 1KDS

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Thanks, I started doing this since I'm on the Rescue Squad over at DroidxForums and I would answer questions and troubleshoot RSD Lite issues on a daily basis and I just knew there had to be a better way. I started using Ubuntu Linux on my desktop and found sbf_flash was an incredibly easy and bullet proof method for sbf flashing. From there I just found a very small Linux distro (SliTaz is awesome and only ~30mb) to remaster packaged with the sbf file and sbf_flash, the first version was pretty crude, just the file and utility in a folder and the user would have to find the folder, open terminal and run a command, it has evolved quite nicely I think. Anyway, my point is RSD Lite plain sucks for some people and some computers so I make this for you guys. I'm not familiar with the Triumph but if you want to PM me the sbf file you would like I can probably make an iso for you. I can also give you an explanation on how I make these or give you instructions to download a fresh Linux file and flash with it.
     
  2. jt1359

    jt1359 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a question. I could never get RSDlite to work on my computer for some reason, so I've never SBF'ed. Will I need to activate my phone using *228 after I SBF it? And is that the only thing different that that I will need to do different from when I flash a new ROM? I just want to SBF so that I can finally update to Gingerbread.
     
  3. hellajdm

    hellajdm Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    This tool works fantastic and is much easier than using RSD Lite. I had actually brought my desktop with windows up to my school this past semester just in case I had to SBF. Thank you so much, as I only have to bring a disc and my macbook now. Great work.
     
  4. 1KDS

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Glad to help out the community!

    [mobile]
     
  5. 1KDS

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Answered pm, but I'll answer here too in case any one else was wondering. This iso doesn't change the baseband so you won't need to activate after flashing.

    [mobile]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. jt1359

    jt1359 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great, thanks!
     
  7. jt1359

    jt1359 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Huh, when I went to run the script, everything seemed to work at first. I pressed enter at the "Boot Baby... Boot" screen, and the yellow dots showed for a few minutes. Then a bunch of white script started to appear, but after a little bit, my display turned off and nothing happened. My laptop was still on, but nothing really happened. And also, after waiting at the display off for a little while, if I press Enter a few times, I can enter the SliTaz operating system I think. I did this whole process a few times, both with the phone not already plugged in, and plugged in in bootloader mode. Any idea why this is happening? I'm running Windows 7 on a Dell laptop.
     
  8. hellajdm

    hellajdm Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    How hard would it be to update the program to the newest 4.5.608 sbf file?
     
  9. Byakushiki

    Byakushiki Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Usea
    Ratings:
    +3
    Pretty sure there isn't one.
    ^
    I stand corrected.
     
  10. iamjackspost

    iamjackspost New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. hellajdm

    hellajdm Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Edited: Whoops... ^^^ what he said
     
  12. hellajdm

    hellajdm Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just don't know where the sbf file is inside of the rootfs.gz. I have some familiarity with linux, but not too much...
     
  13. 1KDS

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Sorry guys, I forgot to check this thread for a while. iamjackspost sent me a message about updating the script(s) to use the newest SBF file, I'm going to start working on it soon, hopefully this weekend, I will also add a root option to the script like I have on a few of the most recent images, what method is commonly used on the newest update, ZergRush? Droid 3?
     
  14. hellajdm

    hellajdm Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweet thank you so much. But for GB most/everyone uses Pete's One Click Root, so I think thats the droid 3 one.
     
  15. 1KDS

    1KDS Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Excellent, I'll add the D3 script so people can root right after the sbf without rebooting or starting any other program.
     
Similar Threads
  1. mikeew83
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,306
  2. 1KDS
    Replies:
    124
    Views:
    65,914
  3. robb57
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    937
Loading...
Search tags for this page
(1kdstaz d2g 4.5.608.iso
,
1kdstaz d2g 4.5.608.rar
,
1kdstaz d2g 4.5.608.iso download
,

1kdstaz d2g 4.5.608.iso

,
1kdstaz d2g 2.4.29
,
1kdstaz d2g 4.5.608
,

ezsbf d2g

,

ezsbf droid 2 global

,
framaroot for rezound
,
how to ezsbf d2g