to root or not to root

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by Texaskj07, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. Texaskj07

    Texaskj07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    just looking for a really good reason to root my fascinate. anyone got some really good ones.
     
  2. misaac

    misaac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    My reason for doing it was so I could tether to my laptop. Just my 2¢.


    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  3. Jamis0n

    Jamis0n Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    if Verizon doesn't ota our fixes by new years I'm rooting.

    8pened!
     
  4. NOsquid

    NOsquid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fully functional gps

    Get rid of bloatware

    overclock/voodoo kernels

    Backups via titanium/clockwork
     
  5. Texaskj07

    Texaskj07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you mean by fully functional gps? I am new to android from blackberry is there a problem with the gps?
     
  6. NOsquid

    NOsquid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you used yours?
     
  7. Texaskj07

    Texaskj07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes seems to work fine. I came from a bb with no gps so yes mine seems to work

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  8. Texaskj07

    Texaskj07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well since I can do screenshots without being rooted and my gps works like a champ,I am going to wait for froyo to get rid of bing. I am going to hold off on rooting for now. Thanks everyone for your help

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App