To any verizon/sprint/att employees

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by MonKENy, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. MonKENy

    MonKENy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have a sneaky suspicion that Verizon throttles data, especially on Unlimited plans. I know you guys are in the know and since this can be somewhat anonymous Id really like to know the crappy things carriers do that most people wouldn't know.

    Anyone else have suspicions about their carriers?
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,473
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,097
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    Verizon used to throttle unlimited 3g users, no word about 4g users.
     
  3. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +54
    I've heard 3G unlimited gets throttled, but 4G LTE does not.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. syndicate0017

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    This is correct. I think Verizon throttles anyone using 3G that has exceeded 2 GB. Happened to me every month once I hit 2 GB. Don't have to worry now that I have 4G in my area. ;)

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. BaSHa

    BaSHa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Why would they throttle 3g but not 4g? How would they know how much data you consumed on 4g compared to 3g, especially beings that most people are constantly going back and forth between the two?
     
  6. MonKENy

    MonKENy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    Ratings:
    +2
    That should be (if its not already) Illegal. I know the FCC is looking into the networks speeds to see how far off the mark they are for what they advertise
     
  7. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,473
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,097
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    This was about a year ago before 4g devices were still coming out. I believe 3g is still throttled, but with 4g becoming the norm I wouldn't be surprised if they throttled 4g users. As for knowing whether it's a 3g/4g device, that's easy, all they have to do is look under your account and see which phone you have. I think they just throttle at 2gb once they saw it was a 3g phone, but if it's a 4g phone, no throttle.
     
  8. Bishang

    Bishang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what I've heard, Verizon will throttle data at 2Gb if you're in an area with heavy cell tower traffic, but you move away from the heavy traffic, your data isn't throttled anymore. E.g. full speed at home but when you're at work in downtown your speed is throttled.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. syndicate0017

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    Verizon can't throttle 4G because of an agreement with the FCC. VZ had to say they would not throttle 4G users if he FCC allowed them to get the spectrum they needed.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +54
    Yay FCC!

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. justin82

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,693
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +216
    i have never been throttled on 3g i have heard it does happen. and i am a high data usage person. i think a lot of it has to do with tower congestion ...
     
  12. Bishang

    Bishang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's exactly how they do it.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 on Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page

sprint employee email for android