Titanium Backup

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by jaitken0308, Mar 11, 2011.

  1. jaitken0308
    Offline

    jaitken0308 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    I've got a titanium backup of all apps and system files. If I do a wipe and flash a different ROM, I've got GSB 1.9, and then install Titanium Backup again and restore, will the system data from my current ROM conflict with a new ROM?

    I'm wanting to flash a new one because GSB can't use Flash, and the only web video you can watch is on YouTube.

    What ROM would you recommend flashing? A 2.2 one, 2.3 one? Thoughts?
  2. fish1552
    Offline

    fish1552 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
    The Titanium Backup part is separate from the ROM part. Outside of downloading something for Gingerbread, then downgrading (or going higher if the dev hasn't updated yet), it won't affect it.
    The easiest way is to go into "Menu>More>Create "update.zip". That way you can load the apps and data while in recovery mode. (Personally, I would recommend RZRecovery as it includes the best of both ClockWork Recovery & SPRecovery) If using RZRecovery (or CW), there would be no need to rename the file to "update.zip". Titanium will allow you to save it as something like "TitaniumBackup-3.7.2.zip" so that you won't confuse it with a ROM update.zip.

    As far as ROMs, the 2.2 (Froyo) ROMs are more stable. The 2.3 (Gingerbread) ones have the higher chance for bugs. Find one that has things you like and try it out. Worst case, you flash a new one a few days later.
  3. jaitken0308
    Offline

    jaitken0308 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    So are you saying that if I create a titanium update.zip file, I can flash a new rom then flash the apps backup afterwards before rebooting?

    And do the froyo roms require flashing the gapps package after flashing the rom? And what about the xtr cache2cache script?
  4. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    BTW you can NOT use RZRecovery on an Eris.
  5. fish1552
    Offline

    fish1552 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
    Ooops. Yeah, just noticed his phone model.


    [•Tapatalk•]
  6. fish1552
    Offline

    fish1552 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
Search tags for this page
flashing zip files from titanium backup
,

titanium backup recovery mode

,
titanium backup zip how to recovery mode 6.1.5.4
,
titanium backup zip recovery
,
where does titanium backup put the update.zip file location