Titanium Backup Questions.

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Fanatic1074, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. Fanatic1074
    Offline

    Fanatic1074 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville Area
    Hey guys i have a couple questions about this program.

    It backs up everything correct?
    Can you backup one rom and load a completly different rom and restore to the new rom? Eg Droid X on 2.2 then loading a custom rom when it drops like bugless and restore.
    Any specific things i should know before doing this?
  2. you_scrubb
    Offline

    you_scrubb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With the titanium backup it backs up all apps and app data. You want to make sure u get the donate version or you will have to install each app one by one. In order to save and switch roms you should use rom manager. It will also let u backup ur phone exactly as it is with homescreens in place. Also u want to get the paid version for more roms to choose from. I believe it allows u to load up roms you find also but I haven't tried it yet.
  3. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    use recovery to backup your ROMs
  4. Fanatic1074
    Offline

    Fanatic1074 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville Area
    I will, if i plan to revert back to the same rom. I talking about if i were to switch roms. Like from stock rom to bugless or something. Will it work for that?
  5. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    id use recovery if you want to go back to what you had (exact settings) before installing
  6. Fanatic1074
    Offline

    Fanatic1074 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville Area
    LOL, ok. Nevermind ill just try it and see what happens. I think your missing the question. Thanks for the other info though. :)
  7. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    you cant backup roms with titanium backup..
  8. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    You guys are totally misunderstanding what he is asking.

    He doesn't want to nandroid backup his roms. He wants his data.

    He wants to flash a new rom and then restore his apps and the data intact.

    Yes you can do that depending on the app. Most apps you can do this with restoring settings most likely not.

    Most of my data is backed up to the cloud via google but I have two apps that can only be backed up with Titanium. I restore only the apps and no data and then let google sync up and restore my contacts and so forth. Then I restore the two apps that I need to have a data backup on.
  9. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    yes i didnt see the "to" in the OP. yes TIbackup will backup apps and data and IMO is the best way to go between ROMs

    you can also use recovery like i was saying before but only backup data and then restore the data that way, too..
  10. you_scrubb
    Offline

    you_scrubb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was trying to explaine that part to.

    Back from the Future.
  11. Fanatic1074
    Offline

    Fanatic1074 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville Area
    Thank you, yes thats what i was asking. And im not as concerned about apps and app data as i am about call log, MMS msgs, clock settings ect. All that will move over ok correct?
  12. ukyfan
    Offline

    ukyfan Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Heart of Big Blue Country
    you might want to look into SMS Backup in the Market. I use it and it works great. It saves your texts messages to your gmail account.
  13. you_scrubb
    Offline

    you_scrubb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got a question to add. Can titanium put my apps back where I had them on my home screen.

    Back from the Future.
  14. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Everything but the widgets.
  15. blueis300
    Offline

    blueis300 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok i had titanium backup installed , went to liberty rom. I kept everything but lost my contacts. Thats the most important thing. I reinstalled liberty because the first install was screwed. I see all my stuff but becasue the new rom some has a line threw it like contacts but there there. I did a restore and it brought back some of my apps that were installed. So is there a way to get my contacts back? I had backup assistant but thats just for blackberry. I go to myverizon and hit contacts and it starts to search or pull up but keeps working.
  16. ukyfan
    Offline

    ukyfan Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Heart of Big Blue Country
    Your contacts should be backed up to your gmail account. Whenever you log into your gmail account after flashing to a new rom you should get all your contacts back.
  17. blueis300
    Offline

    blueis300 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For some reason though they are not on my gmail and I really need them. I dont wanna flash back try and get them through backup assistant and then go back. Im not home right now but hope to try and pull them from my old blackberry backups ,transfer to gmail and go from there. Was hoping to use titanium and do it now though.