Titanium Backup question/problem

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by hobby31, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. hobby31

    hobby31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +4
    I just downloaded and tried this app today as I've been flashing different ROMS. I used it while running my favorite rom which had all my apps on it and then installed a different rom I wanted to try and tried a restore but I keep getting the error message:

    Parse Error
    There is a problem parsing the package.

    Anybody know what that means?

    Thanks in advance...
     
  2. ohioDroid

    ohioDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am trying out the Froyo release, and have a nandroid backup of my previous state (stock 2.1 rooted). I used Titanium Backup on EVERYTHING, and then installed Froyo, but now I can't restore any apps or data.

    When I go to restore an app, I get the same error about parsing.

    When I go to restore the data alone on an installed app, the app in question will Force Close immediately upon opening.

    Any ideas? This would help switching roms be a LOT easier for those of us with these issues...
     
  3. Luxferro

    Luxferro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you need busybox for titanium to work. the froyo build that came out the other day doesn't have it. google how to install it manually.
     
  4. ohioDroid

    ohioDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a thread on here that talks about how to root, install busybox, etc.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...covery-framework-res-apk-custom-boot-ani.html

    I followed the instructions (using another busybox binary I found)... When I did so, though, I didn't get an error but got 'busybox couldn't find this command, couldn't find that command' at the "busybox --install ." part of this.

    Code:
    [B]BusyBox[/B]
    [B]download busybox binary to your adb  tools directory[/B]
    [URL]http://www.alldroid.org/download/file.php?id=709[/URL]
    [B]cd to your adb tools directory[/B]
    adb push busybox /data/local/busybox
    adb shell
    su
    cd /data/local
    chmod 755 busybox
    ./busybox
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    mkdir /system/xbin
    /data/local/busybox cp /data/local/busybox /system/xbin
    /data/local/busybox cp /data/local/busybox /system/bin
    cd /system/xbin
    busybox --install .
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot
     
  5. ohioDroid

    ohioDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Installing the busybox that's included with Titanium Backup and then backing up all of the apps using LZO compression did the trick.
     
  6. him

    him Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    that or the blackdroid version of froyo has it done automatically.
     
Search tags for this page
parse error titanium backup
,
problem parsing the package titanium backup
,
there is a problem parsing the package titanium backup
,
titanium backup error parsing package
,

titanium backup parse error

,

titanium backup problem parsing the package

,
titanium backup there is a problem parsing the package
,
titanium backup there was a problem parsing the package
,
what does problem parsing the package mean
,
what does there is a problem parsing the package mean