Titanium Backup... just want to make sure I'm doing this right...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by GeneralZod, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. GeneralZod
    Offline

    GeneralZod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On old phone...

    Backup all user apps + system data... this will create a backup on the SD card I presume.

    On new phone...

    Insert SD RAM Card
    Walk through steps to activate phone
    Root Phone
    Download Titanium Backup
    Restore Missing apps + all system data

    Assuming that's accurate... won't the phone try to install all my apps once I begin the activation process?

    Thanks.
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA

    I've been flashing roms on my new Bionic almost daily and I've been doing a complete wipe each time. So, I start off with no apps and Google has been reloading 99% of my apps each time. In the past it would only install my paid apps. But now it's getting even the free apps. I feel you get a cleaner reinstall if you let the market do it rather than doing a Titanium restore. YMMV!
  3. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    How many roms are there? I just know of Liberty and The3ory.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Th3ory has two main ones and he produces updates every day or so. That leads me to flash a new rom every day or so. I go to which ever rom has the newest update. The two roms are the same except on is D3Blurr3d and the other has some blur still in it. The blur doesn't bother me so I just go back and forth.
  5. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ok, thanks, so its like cm nightlies on the D1?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  6. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Pretty close. It seems he is going no more than two days without updating one of the two. His work is good too. I've had virtually no problems.
  7. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    That's good, I plan on flashing roms by the end of the week.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  8. GeneralZod
    Offline

    GeneralZod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, do I need Titanium at all for this process? App settings? Thanks again.
  9. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I have Titanium Backup and use it to create backups, but I do not use it to restore data. That's just a personal preference and so I can't offer you much direction there. I have used Titanium to freeze and unfreeze apps and when I didn't like the theme on the Gmail app in a rom I loaded, I used Titanium to convert the Gmail app to a "user app". That allowed me to delete it and then install the current version from the market. So, Titanium can be a useful app, but I don't use it for restores normally. I have always thought I would use it to restore an app that is malfunctioning, but I always end up just deleting the app and reinstalling it from the market.

    Good luck.
Search tags for this page

i only see overview on titanium backup