Titanium Backup doesn't see ROOT

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by StiffOneEye, Dec 8, 2012.

  1. StiffOneEye

    StiffOneEye Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Here's the deets:

    I successfully installed OTA 4.1 a few days ago on my rooted MAXX HD. I was able to keep ROOT using Voodoo OTA Rootkeeper.
    Everything was working great
    I was in the play store uninstalling apps I never use......don't know why I wasn't using TiBu to uninstall apps
    Came upon "Titanium Backup*Root" and "Titanium Backup Pro Key*Root"
    Thinking I still have the free version after I purchased Pro Key, i.e, there are 2 version installed, I uninstalled "Titanium Backup*Root" (in Play Store mind you)
    Realized that TB was gone, I DL-ed and installed TB again
    Launched TB and the app now tells me "Root access Failed" at startup

    I checked all my other apps like Adaway, Voodoo Rootkeeper and SU etc and they run fine
    Ran Terminal Emulator and typed in "SU" and got the "#" so I know I still have root. I'm sure something happened during the uninstall process

    Your help is appreciated.
     
  2. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +335
    Trying going into SU and deleting the TiBu entry, then opening TiBu again. It should ask for root rights again.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  3. StiffOneEye

    StiffOneEye Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hmmmm, Its not listed anymore in the Su list



    Sent from the john using Tapatalk
     
  4. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +335
    Hmmm. Have you tried uninstalling it and the key and then downloading them both again?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  5. StiffOneEye

    StiffOneEye Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have tried that. Would rebooting in between uninstalling and reinstalling help?



    Sent from the john using Tapatalk
     
  6. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +335
    Couldn't hurt.... that's odd. Are SU and binaries up to date?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  7. StiffOneEye

    StiffOneEye Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    That was it! Thanks dude. Updated the binaries and voila.

    Sent from the john using Tapatalk
     
  8. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +335
    Nice! :)

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  9. TOMMYBOT

    TOMMYBOT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    I know its already over. But I love watching this happen. Teamwork problem solving. Good work team!

    sent from my leaked ics bionic using tapatalk 2
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. StiffOneEye

    StiffOneEye Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's what I love about this forum. Thanks for all your help GocliffGo
    Hopefully someone else will benefit from this thread if they have the same problem

    Sent from the john using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
Search tags for this page
root access failed titanium backup
,
titanium backup asking for root rights
,
titanium backup does not recognize root
,
titanium backup no root access
,
titanium backup not recognizing root
,
titanium backup pro root access failed
,
titanium backup root access
,

titanium backup root access failed

,
titanium backup root failed
,
titanium root access failed