TIP: Reboot with a battery pull to fix 4G connection

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by Beka27, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. Beka27
    Offline

    Beka27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    When we activated our phones this afternoon, mine was on 4G but my husband's was on 3G... and we were in the same room. A quick call to VZW revealed that some folks were having this issue. The rep had us pull the battery for 10 seconds and restart. That fixed the problem right away. Not sure if anyone else is having this problem but since this is probably a lot of people's 1st 4G phone I thought I'd put that out there. :)
    1 person likes this.
  2. Skyrocketing
    Offline

    Skyrocketing New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Thanks a lot for the tip! Great help since this is my first 4G phone
  3. squeekybigfoot
    Offline

    squeekybigfoot New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    tried this and had 4g for about 10 seconds after booting. i guess my tower has a weak 4g signal.
  4. Caesars
    Offline

    Caesars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Thanks for the heads up friend!

    ICS MELTED my battery life
  5. Beka27
    Offline

    Beka27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio

    Hmmm, maybe. Maybe as you move around town it'll pick up.

    The rep I had said that doing a reboot like that realigns you with the towers (the way 228 was used for 3G). This was something i didn't know so I'm glad it helped out a few people.

    Happy S3 explorin' everyone! :biggrin:
  6. Mule65
    Offline

    Mule65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Battery pulls on day one -- what a shocker.
  7. Beka27
    Offline

    Beka27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio

    Lol...so have you gotten your S3 yet, Mule?
  8. legalkill
    Offline

    legalkill Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kennesaw
    Other thing to try is go into airplane mode then back off to turn radios back on.
  9. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    My S3 should be here today or tomorrow. It is in the FEDEX system and on its way. The delivery day says the 11th but I always get things a day early. Haven't checked the progress yet this morning. Anyway, a simple "airplane mode" and back fixes this issue as well.

    I am going to give the S3 a shot against my Razr Maxx and see how it stacks up before I sell my Maxx. Then again since they are both micro sim I can switch off if i like. Thats an idea!!
    1 person likes this.
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 4g fix
,
galaxy s3 will not connect to 4g
,

galaxy s3 wont connect to 4g

,
how to fix 4g on galaxy s3
,
how to fix 4g on samsung galaxy s3
,
how to fix my 4g connection
,
my samsung galaxy s3 wont connect to 4g
,
s3 wont connect to 4g
,
samsung galaxy s3 will not connect to 4g
,

samsung galaxy s3 wont connect to 4g

,
verizon galaxy s3 4g issues
,
verizon galaxy s3 wont connect to 4g