Timezone Issue?

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by EVSP, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. EVSP

    EVSP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been getting a strange notification on my phone that says "set current time - choose a city from the list below to set your current timezone".. I paraphrased a little with the verbiage but any else seeing this?

    Thanks!

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
     
  2. fmcgirt

    fmcgirt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I haven't got that message but if I use the Automatic Network Time Setting in Settings my time is an hour off because it picks the wrong time zone: Pacific Std Time instead of Mountain Std Time so I am using the Manual Time Setting for now. Hopefully an update will fix this.
     
  3. EVSP

    EVSP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, weird

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
     
  4. regbs

    regbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me too. Something is detecting the time zone incorrectly one time zone to the west

    I'm in Central Time (GMT-5/6) but it detects my phone in Mountain Time (GMT-6/7) . I saw fmcgirt's post about being in Mountain Time but getting set to Pacific Time (GMT-7/8) .

    A VZW tech suggested I incrementally stop and clear the caches of every running and downloaded app. That worked, but when I turned my phone off then back on, the phone set itself back again to one time zone too far west.

    I'm going through the many apps I have one at a time, in the mean time, here are my apps from the ShareMyApps app to see if there is a common element in our situations:
    ActionPotato (1.1.4)
    Adobe Flash Player 11.1 (11.1.112.60)
    Advanced Task Killer Froyo (1.1.9B20)
    AirAttack HD Part 1 (1.7.2)
    Amazon (1.3.0)
    Angry Birds (2.1.0)
    ASTRO (ASTRO_3.0.247.std)
    Barcode Scanner (3.72)
    BEST TIC TAC TOE (1.4.7)
    Cache Cleaner NG (2.15)
    Car Locator (3.98)
    Chrome to Phone (2.2.0)
    ConvertPad - Unit Converter (2.0.0)
    Docs (1.0.30)
    DroidFish (1.38)
    Flashlight (3.9.9.15)
    FlightTools E6B (1.93)
    Goggles (1.7)
    Google Sky Map (1.6.4)
    Google Voice (0.4.2.38)
    GPS Status (3.8.1)
    GPS2GoogleEarth (1.2.4.1)
    Groupon (1.11.1868)
    IMDb (2.4.2)
    Lookout (7.0-94024ef)
    MonkeyKickOff (1.3.1)
    MorseCoder (2.0.1)
    Movies (3.9.1)
    Navy Clock (2.0)
    Paper Toss (1.0.9)
    PapiMissile (1.1.6)
    PapiOrange (1.2.10)
    Robo Defense (2.3.2)
    ShareMyApps (3.1.2)
    Shazam (3.7.2-BB73576)
    Shopper (2.3)
    Skype (2.6.0.95)
    SoundHound (2.8.4)
    Speed Test (2.0.8)
    Springpad (2.4.3)
    Talking Tom (1.6)
    Translate (2.3)
    U.S. Bank (1.3.8)
    UltraChron (1.9.3)
    USAA (4.2)
    VoiceTask (1.3)
    Wifi Analyzer (3.0.2)

    Generated by ShareMyApps

    Google, Verizon and Samsung ought to be following these forums, but I wouldn't hold my breath.


    vzw Galaxy Nexus LTE (Android 4.0.2, Build ICL53F)
     
  5. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,425
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
  6. fmcgirt

    fmcgirt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, but I should have replied back here before now. After I posted here about once a week I changed my setting from manual to auto and reset my phone and finally, after about two weeks, it stayed in the correct setting so VZ must have done something to correct the problem. We have had a few service outages in the ABQ area in the past month so maybe something got changed during one of those outages to fix the problem. As far as I know I did nothing to help the situation.

    The apps that we do have in common are Adobe Flash Player, Google Sky Map, GPS Status, SpeedTest, US Bank and all are latest version updates.

    I would bet this is a VZ problem caused by something in your local area support framework that they haven't fixed yet, especially since it happened to me on a brand new phone with no extra apps installed.
     
  7. regbs

    regbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    fmcgirt, Thanks for the reply and telling me what apps we have in common.
    This might have been fixed as I drafted this reply. I have noticed this issue on my phone since Tues, Dec 27, 2011.

    My problem seemed to correct after I stopped and cleared the caches of all my apps. That would suggest it wasn't a network issue. But the issue's reappearance after turning the phone off and on suggests it was a network issue with something pinging the net during bootup.
     
  8. fmcgirt

    fmcgirt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess I spoke too soon. Mine is not fixed. I switched from WiFi to 4G a couple of hours ago to run SpeedTest and forgot to switch back. I just noticed that my clock was on Pacific Time instead of Mountain Time so I switched back to WiFi and restarted. Now it has been solid on MST for about an hour. Think I will go back to 4G to see what happens.

    I am pretty sure this has not happened before because I use my phone to check the time pretty often when I am out of the house and on 4G so automatic switching apparently does not cause a problem for me.

    This is pretty crazy!!!
     
  9. fmcgirt

    fmcgirt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    After staying in 4G for about 20 mins back goes the time to PST so it looks like if I stay in WiFi the time is OK and if I stay in 4G it gets screwed up so I am setting it manually until VZ gets the thing fixed.
     
  10. idiotekniQues

    idiotekniQues Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    this phone is so awesome! i am in nj and it's already 2012 according to my rezound. TIME TRAVEL BISHES!
     
  11. EVSP

    EVSP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Love it!! :thumbup:

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
     
  12. EVSP

    EVSP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I hadn't had this timezone issue happen again since I started this thread (go figure) but I did notice recently that the clock was about 7 minutes behind even though it was set on "automatic - use network provided values"... When I originally got this phone, the clock WAS correct. I don't know what happened to cause it to magically be slow but I had to set it to manual... It's weird.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
galaxy nexus wrong time zone
,
htc one x wrong time
,
htc rezound clock issue
,
htc rezound eastern standard time wrong
,

htc rezound showing wrong time

,
htc rezound wrong time
,

htc rezound wrong time zone

,
mtn manual configuration settings for htc adr6425lvw
,
my htc rezound wont switch time zones automatically
,
wrong time zone htc rezound