Thunderbolt vs. Bionic

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by pilot25, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12

    I can only report how my phone works for me. I've not noticed any issues when moving from one app to another.

    Mike
     
  2. Sniper_5

    Sniper_5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Manheim, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    What motorola phones will be out in march? My d1 has survived me over a year when most didn't make it 6 months. The screens dying and the phone is crapping out badly( I'm using the keyboard for this because my screen won't type right) so ill be foreced to use my upgrade imediately. Chances are ill be shooting for the Bionic. Its my understanding that its a "vanilla" android device, and from what I've noticed, all these phones have been fully unlocked and rooted/ROM,d. (D1, Nexus 1 etc).

    Sent from my DROID running UD2.5 @ 1Ghz
     
  3. Leonius

    Leonius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm holding out for a dual-core phone with 1GB of ram. If there is one thing PC gaming has taught me it's that you can always use more ram. I want to be using my next phone for two years without any issues multitasking or running games. I also want a DX sized screen and no physical keyboard (I never use mine on my D1). So I hold out and wait, which is fine, I'm waiting for my income taxes to be able to buy something like this anyhow.
     
  4. briguy503

    briguy503 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland
    Ratings:
    +0
    There will always be a way to unlock or hyjack a boot loader from what I have seen. The 512 ram on the bionic is kind of disappointing from motor. Think I will hang on to my x for a bit.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. destinydmm

    destinydmm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Allegedly the 512mb of ramwas a "typo" B/C Motorola has on thier site that the Bionic has 1GB of RAM. This was also mentioned in all the posts from PhoneDog to Droiddog to AndroidandMe, etc.
     
  6. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    If you go to the Moto site right now it's listed as 512 but it was at 1GB in the beginning


    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  7. leonozug

    leonozug Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Amsterdam NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wonder why that happened with the RAM change? You think a company would know what was in their phone before they released it. lol

    I'm definitely going with the Bionic. The battery life will probably be horrendous on the Thunderbolt, and I want dual-core. So I'm gonna wait it out. It will suck having to wait longer, and I will definitely be tempted going into a verizon store and trying out the Thunderbolt!!
     
  8. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    I will definitely try the TB - but I am not going to buy it, it's MotoBio for me ;)
     
  9. MeganLeigh1122

    MeganLeigh1122 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    both phones look good, can't upgrade to either though
     
  10. HolyGrail

    HolyGrail Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    From the videos I've seen, the Bionic is choppy, while the Thunderbolt is smooth. Even if you don't like HTC sense, they always got transitions right. Regardless of the faster processor, it doesn't matter in real world comparisons, if your software is lacking. Moto is still having the same software lag hiccup its had since the Moto Droid.

    LaucherPro has shown what good optimized software can do first hand. Why can't Motorola get it right.
     
  11. Detonation

    Detonation Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +6
    While LauncherPro can make your homescreen smooth, unfortunately the underlying moto software base is still an overall problem on the phone. In the 3 weeks I've had my Droid X, I've had more lockups/battery pulls than I did in the 3 months I had an Incredible. Other things are also lagged as well, such as populating the list of Widgets or Shortcuts when trying to add one to the homescreen which takes far longer on the X than it did on the Inc.

    The Thunderbolt is not an improvement enough (spec wise) to upgrade from my X. The Bionic looks good, but I'm really hoping a "next-gen" HTC phone similar in spec to the Bionic comes out later this year.

    HTC does have a downfall though - their accessory support sucks. I don't think the Incredible or Evo even have desktop docks still.
     
  12. Leonius

    Leonius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I kind of agree. I have an original droid and using Launcher Pro, Sapphire ROM, and after doing the homescreen hack it runs like butter. Why moto couldn't get it to run that well on it's own I'll never know.
     
Search tags for this page

incredible 2 vs thunderbolt vs bionic