Thunderbolt Update

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by SquintyOS, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. SquintyOS
    Offline

    SquintyOS New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Just checked to see if that update was coming when they said it was. And to my surprise, the check update option decided to tell me I have an update. It's about 35mbs. Have to unroot, though so I will update in the morning after my summer course

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  2. SquintyOS
    Offline

    SquintyOS New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    http://yfrog.com/keyowp

    As of 3:12,est. This my proof taken with shooter and glades through Twitter.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  3. Make MC TW
    Offline

    Make MC TW New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just checked mine ...not available (

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  4. JacobXDM40
    Offline

    JacobXDM40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pasadena,Texas
    Witch update are you talking about?

    Sent from my ADR6400L
  5. Mustang02
    Offline

    Mustang02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    That is most likely MR1. There hasn't been any talk of the MR2 coming out yet.
  6. tc3
    Offline

    tc3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So does it show up for don't people and not others ?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  7. hatephil
    Offline

    hatephil New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Software Update says "SERVICE UNAVAILABLE" for me.
  8. tc3
    Offline

    tc3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't do it.

    I updated it and ad far as I can tell its the old one.

    Why the hell is a device crippling update still out there to download?



    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  9. SquintyOS
    Offline

    SquintyOS New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    I have the rooted version of what was made available for the first update. As in the update that caused the random reboots.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  10. Hipstr62
    Offline

    Hipstr62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota
    @hatephyl....turn your wifi off and try update. Mine says that too if my wifi is on....not sure why this happens.

    Sent from my HTC-Thndrblt using Droid Forums
  11. hatephil
    Offline

    hatephil New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    It was off, but I checked again and it is all better... Just no update. I wish this wasn't some big secret and they would keep us updated on the updates. Love the phone but some stuff needs fixed badly.
  12. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Yeah, it's troubling that no one has reported receiving it. Probably not coming today. Oh well, I guess anyone that wants it badly can manually flash.
  13. SquintyOS
    Offline

    SquintyOS New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Kinda wondering if I should update or not. It'd be weird if it IS the old Mr1 update since I'm currently using it.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  14. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    What does your current "About Phone" report?
  15. SquintyOS
    Offline

    SquintyOS New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Here is what I'm feasting on my Bolt.i mean surely VZW wouldn't pick a small city/town like Roanoke VA to use as a testing area for the mr2 radio.

    [​IMG]http://yfrog.com/h44zanp

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  16. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    OK - I think you're pre-MR1, and the update that is showing on your phone is MR1.

    I would absolutely not accept that update.
  17. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Plus, just found out the MR2 update isn't coming today.

    Actually, I also don't know what would happen if you did accept since you're rooted.
  18. SquintyOS
    Offline

    SquintyOS New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Should I just decline? If I'm pre-MR1, I shouldn't be getting one or two reboots a day. Unless pre-MR1 DID have reboots as well. i checked every day for the last week and a half with no updates until that update that randomly popped up before I went to bed at 3:30 EST this morning.

    i'm also curious about flashing this over what I'm running now. had this thing since day one (literally) then flashed the leaked OTA that was leaked in April or May.
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  19. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    You can just flash the MR2 radio I believe - I would check some threads for whatever ROM you're running. Definitely do some homework before taking action.
  20. SquintyOS
    Offline

    SquintyOS New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Yeah. thanks for the advice. i'm running stock ROM but i can unroot through adb or one of the other methods then flash the MR2 leak. i'm still wondering what this update is. How big is the MR2 leak?

    Edit/update: the software update in question is 35.649mbs. i might have made a slight mistake earlier.
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
Search tags for this page

adr6400l android update