thunderbolt should be rooted, but not acting like it

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by Eplafferty, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. Eplafferty

    Eplafferty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I went and did revolutionary to get s-off, flashed su, clockwork mod, then updated both su and binaries. After all that I assumed my tbolt would be rooted right? Reason I ask is because it seems that none of my apps (like titanium backup, wireless tether, etc) are gaining access to root and every time I try to allow permissions and remember, superuser force closes and those mentioned apps don't work. Is my phone truly rooted? Did I foul up on a step? Or is it a problem with superuser? Any ideas?

    Btw i'm running froyo with 1.70.605.0
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2011
  2. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +55
    Download Root Checker from the market and check. Try Updating SU as its been having some bugs worked out.
     
  3. Eplafferty

    Eplafferty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the app recommendation! It was showing that I wasn't really rooted so I just went back and rerooted. I do have one last thing to ask. When I rerooted, it was downgraded to soft.# 1.12.605.6. Is there a way to upgrade back to my original 1.70.605.0 and still keep my root? I have no experience with adb so please try to keep it simple with a plug and click program. Thanks in advance!!
     
  4. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +55
    Well since you're rooted now, upgrade to gingerbread, don't stay on froyo. I use DAS BAMF forever 1.0.7 with the stock kernel and latest radio.
     
  5. Eplafferty

    Eplafferty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No offense but if I wanted GB, I would've asked. With the voicemail notifications and other bugs i'm gonna stay away until they fix it. I'm not looking for a custom ROM just yet either, I want 1.70.605.0
     
  6. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +55
    Not sure then. I didn't notice a froyo system change when I rooted.
     
Search tags for this page

my galaxy s3 is rooted but acts like its not

,

s-off but no root access