Thunderbolt Rooting problem

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by wascapsfan, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After reading the forums, I may have something new.
    I was following the tutorial step by step when I got to the bootloader.
    I hit the bootloader but nothing happened. I wiped the entire slate clean on the thunderbolt, which basically formatted everything other than my 32gb card.
    OK. I start all over again by downloading PG05IMG_Downgrade (935 MB) It stated about 460MB but downloaded 935mb. Also redownloaded exploits.zip and PG05IMG.zip (399.38MB) Got through 2 steps until I added adb shell. It pulled up a # sign instead of a $ sign. Also, the bootloader screen wont come up on the Thunderbolt. I've done this numerous times and still no $ sign....only the #.
    adb does recognize my phone
    Please advise!!
  2. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok im confused as to where you are? Are these the steps you have completed so far?

    Step 1
  3. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. The very next step adb shell should give me a $ sign but it gives me a # sign instead.
  4. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What happens when you run the next command
  5. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The system cannot find the path specified.
    iot goes back to C:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools>
  6. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats odd Im not sure what you have going on with it.

    The previous command puts the file there
  7. hogowner
    Offline

    hogowner New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try using the 3 step method or the one step method.....

    may work for you better
  8. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tried the 3 step and I have the boot screen but it isn't asking me to upgrade.HBOOT is highlighted
    and my choices are fastboot,recovery,factory reset,simlock,hboot usb,and image crc
  9. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats a windows error. Sounds like you are running "/data/local/psneuter" from the windows command prompt and not the adb shell prompt
  10. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is what I run....C:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools> adb shell and it pulls up a # sign when the directions say $ sign.
    It worked the first time but when I had a problem later - I put the phone back to day 1 and now when I do what it states, I get the # sign which is wrong. It's asking for a $ sign
  11. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are already at the # prompts try running the next command
  12. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome. it got me to step 4. I did what it said and changed the PG05IMG download to PG05IMG.zip and sent it to my sd card.
    Then I loaded adb reboot bootloader and it was basically accepted and it turned my phone screen to bootloader. I hit the power button on top of my Tbolt and now I get a choice of FASTBOOT,RECOVERY,FACTORY RESET,HBOOT USB, or IMAGE CRC. It's just sitting there doing nothing because I didn't select anything after bootloader.
    Any advice??
  13. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if the file PG05IMG.zip is in the root of the SD card it should start loading it automatically after the boot.
  14. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I showed it going into the sd card in the phone. It was over 900 mb and took about 5 minutes to load. Nothing is happening now though.
    I just have the options on my phone that I last posted. I still haven't made a choice. it flashed very quickly when I hit bootloader but only gave me options spoken in the last post.
  15. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it has never asked me to upgrade!
  16. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HBOOT is highlighted in blue and fastboot is highlighted in blue also (fastboot can be changed by pressing the volume up or down)
  17. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    screen says

    mecha xd ship s-on
    hboot-1.04.0000
    microp-/
    radio-1.16.00.0223r
    eMMC-boot
    feb 23 2011,20:42:55

    HBOOT (highlighted in blue)

    vol up to previous item
    vol down to next item power to select item

    fastboot (highlighted in blue)
    recovery
    factory reset
    simlock
    hboot usb
    image crc
  18. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think thats the problem. That file sounds corrupt. Mine is 470mb .. 900mb isnt right
  19. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's what it says when I download it but when I go into properties after the download it says I have 989mb. Here is what I downloaded from the PG05IMG_DOWNLOAD that I changed to PG05IMG.zip.

    android-info 1kb
    boot-signed 3009kb
    dzdata_4g 1557kb
    dzdata_8g 2110kb
    hboot_7630_0.95.0000_101216.nb0 1024kb
    mdm9k 32,866kb
    mdmnv_Mecha_NV_MFG_VZW_1.52_1231_PRL58008.nb 512kb
    nv_mecha_8655_NV_MFG_emmc_VZW_1.37_1230_PRL58008.nb 2048kb
    radio 27348kb
    recovery_signed 4029kb
    splash1.nb0 768kb
    system 882684kb
    tp_atmel224_20aa 72kb
    tp_atmelc12_20aa 71kb
  20. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you using windows. If you right click the file and do a properties does it say 900mb ?
Search tags for this page
1.49.00.0406
,
fastboot recovery factory reset simlock image crc
,
htc image crc
,
htc thunderbolt su binary
,
image crc
,

image crc htc thunderbolt

,
mecha xd ship
,

mecha xd ship s-on

,
mecha xd ship s-on hboot 1.05.0000 radio-1.49.00.0406
,
mecha xd ship s-on htc thunderbolt
,
thunderbolt sd card problems
,
wipe android from fastboot s-on htc thunderbolt