Thunderbolt Rooting problem

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by wascapsfan, Mar 28, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    After reading the forums, I may have something new.
    I was following the tutorial step by step when I got to the bootloader.
    I hit the bootloader but nothing happened. I wiped the entire slate clean on the thunderbolt, which basically formatted everything other than my 32gb card.
    OK. I start all over again by downloading PG05IMG_Downgrade (935 MB) It stated about 460MB but downloaded 935mb. Also redownloaded exploits.zip and PG05IMG.zip (399.38MB) Got through 2 steps until I added adb shell. It pulled up a # sign instead of a $ sign. Also, the bootloader screen wont come up on the Thunderbolt. I've done this numerous times and still no $ sign....only the #.
    adb does recognize my phone
    Please advise!!
  2. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok im confused as to where you are? Are these the steps you have completed so far?

    Step 1
  3. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply. The very next step adb shell should give me a $ sign but it gives me a # sign instead.
  4. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What happens when you run the next command
  5. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The system cannot find the path specified.
    iot goes back to C:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools>
  6. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats odd Im not sure what you have going on with it.

    The previous command puts the file there
  7. hogowner
    Offline

    hogowner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    try using the 3 step method or the one step method.....

    may work for you better
  8. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    tried the 3 step and I have the boot screen but it isn't asking me to upgrade.HBOOT is highlighted
    and my choices are fastboot,recovery,factory reset,simlock,hboot usb,and image crc
  9. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats a windows error. Sounds like you are running "/data/local/psneuter" from the windows command prompt and not the adb shell prompt
  10. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what I run....C:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools> adb shell and it pulls up a # sign when the directions say $ sign.
    It worked the first time but when I had a problem later - I put the phone back to day 1 and now when I do what it states, I get the # sign which is wrong. It's asking for a $ sign
  11. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are already at the # prompts try running the next command
  12. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome. it got me to step 4. I did what it said and changed the PG05IMG download to PG05IMG.zip and sent it to my sd card.
    Then I loaded adb reboot bootloader and it was basically accepted and it turned my phone screen to bootloader. I hit the power button on top of my Tbolt and now I get a choice of FASTBOOT,RECOVERY,FACTORY RESET,HBOOT USB, or IMAGE CRC. It's just sitting there doing nothing because I didn't select anything after bootloader.
    Any advice??
  13. robdec17
    Offline

    robdec17 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    if the file PG05IMG.zip is in the root of the SD card it should start loading it automatically after the boot.
  14. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I showed it going into the sd card in the phone. It was over 900 mb and took about 5 minutes to load. Nothing is happening now though.
    I just have the options on my phone that I last posted. I still haven't made a choice. it flashed very quickly when I hit bootloader but only gave me options spoken in the last post.
  15. wascapsfan
    Offline

    wascapsfan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    it has never asked me to upgrade!
Search tags for this page
1.49.00.0406
,
fastboot recovery factory reset simlock image crc
,
htc image crc
,
image crc
,

image crc htc thunderbolt

,
mecha xd ship
,

mecha xd ship s-on

,
mecha xd ship s-on htc thunderbolt
,
thunderbolt sd card problems
,
wipe android from fastboot s-on htc thunderbolt