Thunderbolt Proximity Sensor Issue

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by badmeat, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. badmeat

    badmeat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I purchased a T-bolt on release day and recently started having issues with the proximity sensor not turning off the screen during calls. I troubleshooted it by testing the auto-brightness feature, which did not work as well.

    I found the fix online in a thread about the HTC Desire.

    Apparently, the gap between the top of the screen and the earpiece (near the proximity sensor) allows dust in, which causes the sensor to not work.

    You fix this by simply blowing air into the gap. I did battery pulls, reboots, and installed the "Sanity" app to try and fix the sensor/troubleshoot. None of this worked, but blowing into the gap instantly fixed it.

    I hope this helps anyone having this same issue.
     
  2. Beardface

    Beardface Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +117
    There is an issue with the software handling the Sensor... The leaked unofficial update has a fix for it, but for now, who knows how stable.

    We should have an update.zip to use for stock very soon. if this leak came from HTC themselves.
     
  3. badmeat

    badmeat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's working fine now.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  4. Gatorguy18

    Gatorguy18 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Central Fl, 4G LTE land
    Ratings:
    +0
    You, sir, are one BAMF! I have been reading all over XDA forums and flashing this kernel and that kernel and changing this setcpu setting and that setting, etc. all trying to "fix" my proximity sensor in vain. I read your post, went to the air compressor in the garage, and waa laa, PERFECT!

    Thank you very much for your contribution!
     
  5. KATIECLAY73

    KATIECLAY73 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    omg finally this worked.. maybe now i will quit calling other people while i am on the phone or muting them. lol those mute and speaker phone icons are in the worst places on the phone.. thanks
     
  6. badmeat

    badmeat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm glad I could help. I hope others having the same issue are able to easily find this thread. I've already had to get out the 'canned air' and blow into the gap again since I fixed it initially. Still working fine though. I guess that will just become a normal routine with this phone...

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
    #6 badmeat, Apr 27, 2011
    Last edited: May 9, 2011
  7. jcarlilesiu

    jcarlilesiu New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been searching all over for solutions, settings, case interference, trying to figure out why my screen wouldn't turn off during a call.

    I came across this thread, and thought "no way is compressed air going to work".

    Holy. it worked. Weird. Kudos for ever figured that one out.
     
  8. katrich

    katrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Church Hill, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wonderful!! this works but at the same time sad that we have to even do it. Maybe when I have the next clear screen protector put on we can get it as close to that edge as possible and make it not as accesible to dust as now. Thanks for this fix, however temporary. My mom was getting quite tired of me hanging up on her! Lol. dancedroid
     
  9. thelopenator

    thelopenator Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha wow it worked. didnt think the solution could be that simple.
     
  10. Daethian

    Daethian Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    St Louis Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am accidentally muting my phone and couldn't figure out why! My mom has the same issue with my OG Droid. Now both phones are going to get a good cleaning. THanks!
     
  11. tballl

    tballl New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What Gap are we talking about ?

    Can you please clarify what gap i need to blow air into ?
     
  12. fnourse

    fnourse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    silver springs fl
    Ratings:
    +0
    On front top right corner next to speaker
    I think it is also the front camera
    But I've been wrong b 4
     
    #12 fnourse, Oct 26, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2011
Search tags for this page

htc thunderbolt proximity sensor

,
htc thunderbolt proximity sensor location
,
htc thunderbolt proximity sensor not working
,
htc thunderbolt proximity sensor problem
,
proximity sensor htc thunderbolt
,
proximity sensor thunderbolt
,

thunderbolt proximity sensor

,
thunderbolt proximity sensor issue
,
thunderbolt proximity sensor not working
,
thunderbolt proximity sensor problem