1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Thunderbolt power button?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by AlexSB, Apr 2, 2011.

  1. AlexSB
    Offline

    AlexSB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have just received my replacement Thunderbolt (New), and while the battery is noticeably better on this one, I've noticed that I have that mushy/recessed power button people have been talking about. On my previous model I did not have this at all, but now I notice how much of an inconvenience it is. ESPECIALLY when my volume rocker is as "clicky" as it could be (I would rather have a clicky power button w/ recessed volume rockers).

    My question is, has anyone "tampered" with the button (with the case off) to maybe make it not as mushed in? Is it even possible?
  2. AlexSB
    Offline

    AlexSB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump, any suggestions/solutions?
  3. mjbalys
    Offline

    mjbalys New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine's pretty squishy too, but at least it is responsive. I guess if the button falls all the way in I'll have to do something about it.
  4. AlexSB
    Offline

    AlexSB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea its still responsive which is still good. I've read around on apps that let you use the volume buttons to unlock the phone? I'm not sure if they kill battery though

    AWESOMEbolt
  5. mjbalys
    Offline

    mjbalys New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like you might have to root for that, but it could be cool.
  6. greyghost04
    Offline

    greyghost04 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Get 'Screen Mode' app and then you can use the side toggle button to turn it on and not have to go through the front swish screen.
  7. lockman
    Offline

    lockman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    I've replaced two TBolt's due to the power button. IMO, it's a defect, and I'm going to be angry when I have a refurb in the next month due to the current phone's button breaking.
  8. AlexSB
    Offline

    AlexSB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I checked out the app on the market and I've seen alot of negative reviews so I'm kinda eh about trying that one out.

    Yea I feel you man I think imma call this one in and see if they can send me a new one I don't want a refurbed so early to the phones launch

    AWESOMEbolt
  9. CsonkaBear
    Offline

    CsonkaBear New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SW OH.
    The power button on my TB was definitely a concern (always mushy). After 13 days it was dipping seriously to the right.

    I was waiting for it to lodge under the case. It IS an issue.
  10. lockman
    Offline

    lockman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    OK, so yours broke the same as my two.

    How do we, as a community, get Verizon to make this right?
  11. jseah
    Offline

    jseah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Uh, since HTC is the company that manufactured the phone, isn't it HTC's problem to fix? All Verizon can do is keep replacing the phone. If the phone was designed and manufactured with a crappy button, how can Verizon fix it for you?

    When the XBox 360 was plagued with the red ring of death problem, was it Best Buy, or Target, or Toys R Us, or Gamestop's responsibility to repair it for you?
  12. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Are you guys/gals really having a problem with the power button? Sure it is mushy but it seems to me to be working as described without a problem. I've had my phone since release date and I've used it every day. It's a bit disconcerting coming from Droid 1's strong power button but I've gotten used to it.
  13. AlexSB
    Offline

    AlexSB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I called Verizon and they told me that indeed they are aware of this problem, atleast they recognize it now and maybe it gets forwarded to HTC? I'm thinking about giving HTC a call and just letting them know about it.


    @BigMcGuire yea I'm starting to have the push the button 2-3 times for it to respond.
  14. greyghost04
    Offline

    greyghost04 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yea that may be true, but if you want to turn it on with a push of the volume button(much easier) and not have to swish the first screen, it's the only way to do it.
  15. dvgb173
    Offline

    dvgb173 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    We, as customers need to complain to the dealer, Verizon.
    Verizon, as the lead distributor of this phone needs to demand a fixed batch from HTC for customer replacements. When you buy something that turns out to be junk, don't you go back to where you bought it?
    The dealers are the only ones that hold any sway over the manufacturer.
  16. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Unfortunately what we minorities consider to be a issue, there just isn't a enough of us to get Verizon to act. My power button feels but then again I cam fromt he OG, we it was a solid button. Sometimes when I press it in, I here a clicking/crackling sound, but nevertheless the power but works as it's suppose to.
  17. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Chances are as long as us super picky people don't keep playing with the button to see if it will malfuction, we'll eventually forget about it, accept it and move on. But if we keep thinking about it, it will eat at us.
  18. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia
    I'm almost with you on that one, I'm still getting use to the crackling sound I hear, but it works as described.
  19. Zetsumei
    Offline

    Zetsumei New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cross Fiyahhhhhhh!
    I'm on my 5th Thunderbolt now. I should of thorughly checked the phone at verizon, but on this one the volume rockers are stuck and make an annoying popping noise since the side bezel isn't sealed down proplery and the volume rocker is so stiff when doing volume down. I would expect that from a referb phone, but not from a BRAND new phone activated right infront of my face at the store. It's pretty bad rep for HTC/VZW imo.
  20. TheFarmerDeBoer
    Offline

    TheFarmerDeBoer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    My suggestion would be to search around on Amazon.com and other places for cases that have a power and volume buttons actually built into the case.

    here's an example: seidioonline.com

    While it's not out yet, you can see in the screen shots the case has it's own power and volume button. If my replacement has an issue, I'll be picking this up as the fix. Hopefully.
Search tags for this page
fix power button on thunderbolt
,

fix thunderbolt power button

,

how to fix htc thunderbolt power button

,
how to fix the top button on an thunderbolt
,
how turn on htc thunderbolt power button no function
,
htc thunderbolt broken power button
,
htc thunderbolt power button
,
htc thunderbolt power button broken
,

htc thunderbolt power button fix

,

htc thunderbolt power button not working

,
htc thunderbolt power button problems
,
htc thunderbolt power button repair
,

htc thunderbolt power button replacement

,

thunderbolt power button fix

,
thunderbolt power switch