Thunderbolt GPS fix?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by kevins686, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. kevins686

    kevins686 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Ratings:
    +11
    When I try to use my Google Navigation (the one with the blue arrowhead, not the VZ Navigator), it keeps "searching for GPS " and won't lock on. I've heard this is a common issue for TB owners . . . is there consensus one what's the best fix?
     
  2. johnd09

    johnd09 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Supposed to come with the maintenance update next week. If you download GPS Status app from the market go to menu-tools-manage a gps state- reset then go back and select download, this will help for a while.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt!!
     
    #2 johnd09, Jun 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2011
  3. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    Power off your phone. Pull battery and LTE card. Replace and reboot.

    ridin the lightning
     
  4. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    You can also install the MR2 radio now if you wanted.
     
  5. Kid A

    Kid A Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    US
    Ratings:
    +0
    The ignorant people at the Verizon store told me to do that. Didn't work.

    I love how "pull the battery" is their automatic to any problem.

    Get the GPS Status app, completely solved the issue for me. My phone locks onto the signal almost instantly now.
     
  6. Natey2

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    +1 :)
    That's what I had been doing for a while too.
    Sometimes Bing works when Google navigation doesn't, so is this more of a GPS issue or an app issue?

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using DroidForums app
     
  7. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    Kid a I'm going by what others have reported working. And they are familiar forum members with a trustworthy rep. The Gps status and toolbox app says it only works for a few days. And I didn't just say pull the battery.

    And now that I mention it..it seems lately that all these new unfamiliar forum members are acting like complete douchenozzles when people try to help them fix an issue. Dillagaf what VZW reps told u. From this point in I will not offer help to the users who have acted like buttnuggets


    ridin the lightning
     
    #7 yakitori, Jun 12, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2011
  8. Kid A

    Kid A Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    US
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just so used to hearing "remove the battery" as a response to any problem, I'm sick of hearing it. If it has worked for you, then good. Didn't mean to sound like a douchenozzle, but I suppose I have been a bit of one lately...

    GPS Status has been working for me since I installed it. I have it set to auto download AGPS state if older than one hour. I'm not sure if it is taxing on my battery because I only put my GPS on when I need it.
     
  9. lbo

    lbo New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    @yakitori, thank-you. Your recommendation fixed my GPS problem.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  10. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    There is a difference between pulling your battery and clearing data and cache for the app in settings..pulling battery...removing LTE sim card and replacing.

    I have done this myself as well as the temporary Gps status and toolbox fix. It has worked for me and many others. I can't explain why it works. It may not solve everyone's Gps lock...but mine is instant and almost instant indoors

    ridin the lightning
     
  11. VolDroid

    VolDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    This actually worked for me while on vacation this week in Gulf Shores. It was taking 5 min to lock on to my location. I read a post somewhere else about doing this, tried it, and it fixed my issues. It immediately started locking on in seconds.
     
  12. wrh3

    wrh3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded both the GPS apps and still no go. Pulled the battery and sim, reinstalled and it is as fast locking on to satellites now as my old Incredible was......sometimes it is an easy fix.
     
Search tags for this page
fix gps thunderbolt
,
gps fix thunderbolt
,
how to fix gps on htc thunderbolt
,
htc thunderbolt gps
,
htc thunderbolt gps fix
,
htc thunderbolt navigation issues
,
thunderbolt gps
,

thunderbolt gps fix

,
thunderbolt gps not working
,
thunderbolt navigation searching for gps