1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Thunderbolt Contacts not updating in google

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by rustinq, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. rustinq
    Offline

    rustinq New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, Az
    I was used to having my contacts on my phone be the same as what was in my google contact list. now it seems that HTC contacts are stored on the phone and when I add one, it doesnt sync with my google contacts. Is there a setting that I can change to only use google contacts and not the local "people" contact list? or is there an app that I can install that would replace the "people" contact list? I dont want my contacts local to my phone. I want my google contact list to be my only contact list.
  2. cpjr
    Offline

    cpjr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    The people app also syncs with your google account. Make sure you have sync turned on inside settings.
  3. rustinq
    Offline

    rustinq New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, Az

    I have sync turned on for google and contacts is checked. I am not able to find where to turn on sync in People. In the people app i can link a contact in google with a local contact, but it doesnt sync that info up with google.
  4. Screwbal
    Offline

    Screwbal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Had any luck sorting this out or finding a fix? Or can the masses confirm if this is/should be working? My GF and I now sync our iPhone address book on our phones through gmail with one account and it works great for us. I can't imagine going back to trying to manage our phones separately and keeping the consistent through manual labor.
  5. ionide
    Offline

    ionide New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you add a new contact, it will save to phone, you have to manually click and change that. Add a new contact right now, you'll see what I mean.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  6. mark3748
    Offline

    mark3748 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    You have to set the contact type to "Google" when you add a contact you want to sync.

    The option is at the top.
  7. cpjr
    Offline

    cpjr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    That is odd. The app works perfectly fine for me out of the box.
  8. ionide
    Offline

    ionide New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just checked, its the first entry, "Contact type" change it from phone to your Google account.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  9. Screwbal
    Offline

    Screwbal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So once u change that if you login to gmail and modify the contact does that get updated on your phone too?

    With my iPhone my gmail is setup as an exchange account with contacts set to sync so no matter where I update it local on the phone, my gf's phone or gmail directly they all are consistent. Im still thinking trying to get my head around if this works with the TB/android so I have something else to help try to sell her on and finally ditch at&t :)
  10. Primevyl
    Offline

    Primevyl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    cpjr >off topic<...how did you root your thunderbolt? i just got mine yesterday and already i miss my permissions!
  11. jlambeth1
    Offline

    jlambeth1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Start here, http://www.droidforums.net/forum/th...dated-easy-root-available-3-step-process.html. This is how I rooted mine. Just be prepared to possibly devote a few hours of times if you have to restart the application several times like I had to. It is worth the trouble to obtain root!
  12. Primevyl
    Offline

    Primevyl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Thanks so much will attempt

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  13. BGKris
    Offline

    BGKris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County,CA
    I just figured that out! lol I was wondering why everytime I flash to a new rom my new contacts don't get pushed over :biggrin:
  14. hesham1
    Offline

    hesham1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so if you have an existing phone contact that you want to change over to a google contact, is there a way to do it? or do i have to start over with a whole new entry? i cant seem to find it when i try to edit the contact
  15. pjo1966
    Offline

    pjo1966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Not the best workaround, but on my computer I added a Google Contact with the same name as on my phone. I entered the name and email address, because on the phone the contact only had the phone number. Within seconds I got a notification to link the two contacts. I assume you can create a contact on the computer with just the name and no other info. It should still sync with the phone contact.
Search tags for this page
contacts stored thunderbolt
,
google contacts not syncing thunderbolt
,
how do i save cpnacts to google on htc thunderbolt
,
how to add contacts from thunderbolt to google
,
how to back up contacts from htc thunderbolt to google excha
,
how to manage contacts on my htc one?
,
htc one google contacts not synching reddit
,
htc thunderbolt lost contacts
,
htc thunderbolt sync contacts to google account
,
push contacts thunderbolt with google
,
save new contacts to google htc thunderbolt
,
sync thunderbolt contacts with google
,

thunderbolt contacts

,
what does move thunderbolt contacts do?
,
where are my contacts stored on htc thunderbolt