1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Thunderbolt Bug Fixing Update Tonight

Discussion in 'Android News' started by WenWM, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. WenWM
    Offline

    WenWM Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    [​IMG]

    • [FONT=&quot]Improved data connectivity.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=&quot]Enhanced Call History view.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=&quot]Reduced number of device power cycles and resets.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=&quot]Improved Bluetooth Discovery Mode pop-up window.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=&quot]View App Menu in tabbed layout.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=&quot]People search function enabled.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=&quot]Backup Assistant has been added to the All Apps menu.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=&quot]Preloaded My Verizon, V CAST Music and V CAST Videos.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=&quot]Desktop cradle App is now available, showing clock in landscape m[/FONT]
    • [FONT=&quot]NY Times site has been added into the browser bookmarks.[/FONT]
    A recently leaked screenshot shows these items being included in an update that’s supposed to hit Verizon T-bolts tonight. The update build is 1.70.605.0. It’s not the Gingerbread update that will also bring Skype video calling support, but this one brings a host of fixes.

    Via: Androidcentral
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 11, 2011
  2. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I thought something was coming. The last time I tried to check for an update and I got a message satying the serviced is unavailable, that night the MR1 became avaialable. I've been getting the same message each time I check for an update today. Maybe they take the server off line when they are readying the update and that's why our phones tell us the service is unavailable.

    Nate
  3. YungFrshCrckr
    Offline

    YungFrshCrckr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's really annoying me is that they can't even say that this maintenance update is actually fixing the rebooting problems. It's just going to REDUCE them. Kind of ridiculous that we even had to wait this long, just for them to sort of fix an issue. So no, I'm not really all that excited, albeit, it is good news that some of those issues are being fixed.
  4. mafiafan123
    Offline

    mafiafan123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow

    :icon_ banana: YAY! More Bloatware from VZW and a supposed half ass fix oh wait theres more
    Enhanced Call History view.
    Improved Bluetooth Discovery Mode pop-up window.
    View App Menu in tabbed layout.

    Without this update idk where id be honestly "sarcasm" anyhow I wonder if this half ass fix changes anything? someone should quadrant test it after and report anything interesting but yes id love some GB if there ever nice enough to take it out of the dam oven. Wonder how much the bloatware will slow it down... or if its worth the update even. Still debating rooting it but with roots come some things that dont work like they should in some builds. Sigh :icon_eek: guess time will tell.
  5. iPhoneBlowz
    Offline

    iPhoneBlowz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Freedom, PA
    Root that baby! I'm due for an upgrade in a couple weeks and might get the TB. No way I'd run it stock though. I run a ROM on my Incredible called OMFGB. They have a version for the TB. It awesome. Go grab yourself some Gingerbread.
  6. mafiafan123
    Offline

    mafiafan123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a Droid the first one before the thunderbolt and after about 4 months I rooted it but then after flashing a couple of roms and kernels no matter what it was I started losing 3g connection and would have to do airplane mode etc sms on video didn't work. I'm just afraid if I root it then GB will come out and i would have a need to. The only reason why id root isn't even for battery it would just be for Netflix and of course the great look of GB
  7. Limbwalker
    Offline

    Limbwalker New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gator Country
    Been thinking about getting one for my wife (upgrade time) but have been scared away by the issues . . . dancedroid
  8. thurilok
    Offline

    thurilok New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In other words, give up your rooted native tether compatibility for a handful of meaningless features that other apps do better anyway. I'll wait for the stand alone rooted radio update, thank you very much.
  9. davefanmike
    Offline

    davefanmike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No more mobile hotspot

    Figures that they would take away the mobile hotspot!!!
    I am starting to wonder why I moved away from my X!
  10. rtompkins3
    Offline

    rtompkins3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's up with the upgrade now. about 75 mb.
  11. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    yup just received the notification also.
  12. shanewprice
    Offline

    shanewprice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    I have received the notification that the update is available but when I select "OK" it then tries to download the update only to tell me that it is "UNABLE TO CONNECT TO THE SERVER."

    Oh well.
  13. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    yeah mine was about 90% done and it got that message, but it shows back up when you search for an update again.
  14. Mysfit
    Offline

    Mysfit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got the update. Seems a lot faster and smoother then before. Some of the apps that were force closing seem tho have stopped so a will see.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  15. Bengal21
    Offline

    Bengal21 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Installing my bloatwa....update now.
  16. pappabacon
    Offline

    pappabacon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still service unavailable. ;(
  17. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Installed and running great so far.. able to lock on GPS again ;)
  18. Mysfit
    Offline

    Mysfit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And wow is the phone fast now more like I expected it to be...

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  19. ajk23az
    Offline

    ajk23az New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    I had to download mine on 1X, I got the service unavailable on both 3g and 4g.
  20. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    I was able to download it the first time, and it got messed up on that download. After that it told me service unavailable about 2 times and then it let me download it again.