1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Thoughts on Ice Crean

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by CAZMAN408, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. CAZMAN408
    Offline

    CAZMAN408 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have never had enough issues to sign on to this form, but I do now.

    1. Before I could force my phone to stay on the 3G or less system (not 4) but now that option does not want to work.
    I live on the edge of the 4G world and my phone switches back and fourth so much it is now draining the battery by 5 pm. (It used to last until 11:00 pm when I would plug it in with 40% or more left.
    *****************************************************************************
    2. This hitting the picture of a key to open the phone is fine but why have yet another set of keys to hit after that then the function? One wasted step too many. Take off just the unlock key and leave the short cut section in place.
    **************************************************************************************
    3. Before you could navigate through the phone menu to call back or look into your phone book, but now
    You have to get out of one place and open up the phone book, another added step.
    **************************************************************************************
    4. Moving the phone ringer on/off near the side key on the razr makes it way too easy to put in silent/vibrate by mistake
    ****************************************************************************************
    5. It seems the phone has slowed down after this also (taking longer to come up when let's say the camera is selected)

    Several other things have gotten better. However it feels more like one step forward and two back.
    Before the 4.0 ICS update, my only real concern was the camera tended not to want to focus and blur pictures. My last phone was the Motorola droid with the same large screen but a bit heavier but took very nice 8M pictures.

    Last thing I will say is a better type of screen that does not take the heat from your face while you’re talking and over heat the screen.
  2. bruben7886
    Offline

    bruben7886 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All these issues are resolvable...... really!
    Problem is I gotta get to work now. Sooooo, if no one else chimes in I'll get to you after work (post midnight)
    HOWEVER...I'm sure you will have a plethora of responses by then.
    Welcome to the forum by the way! :)
    1 person likes this.
  3. Caesars
    Offline

    Caesars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    To force the phone into 3g only, type in *#*#4636#*#*
    -hit phone information
    -go down to where it says (something like this at least) cdma/lte/something elsw
    -click that option
    -select cdma auto PRL
    -back out via the back arrow (no idea if it matters if you back out or hit home).
    enjoy 3g only :). People mention that you have to do this each reboot, however i never had to each time.

    The other stuff im not sure of, good luck.

    Googorola MAXX
  4. bruben7886
    Offline

    bruben7886 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got a little time...but I'll do it one at a time.
    4g can be turned into 3g by using the above-mentioned way. To get to that screen easier download lte on off from the market. Click on the app and it's the same as the dialed *#*# number. The 4g is "lte cdma evdo". The 3g is "cdma auto prl". Once on 3g it should not revert to 4g with a reboot.
    Edit....this answers number 1
    1 person likes this.
  5. bruben7886
    Offline

    bruben7886 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "People" (the phone book) brings up the contacts. The dialer is included.... look up in the top right. You'll see the search button at furthest right. Next to it is a phone icon. Tap it and it brings up the dialer app.
    Or, from the dialer app tap on the menu key. One of the choices is "search". Tap that and you get the contacts app. Either way, there is cross-over integration, like in the gb phone app.
    What I did was drag the dialer app on top of the contacts app and created a folded called phone. I tap it and I immediately have access to the dialer or my contacts depending on what I'm about to do. :)

    Edit....this takes care of number 3
    1 person likes this.
  6. bruben7886
    Offline

    bruben7886 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On to number 2

    Menu....system settings..security...screen lock

    Select "slide" for a one touch (hit the key symbol... no password way).
    Or, select "none". With this one, hitting on off switch takes you straight into homescreen.
    Yup, you can use this menu to set up pattern lock, pin lock, face unlock as well. But your comment sounded like you don't want to bother with all that......like me.
    Nothing on my phone I'm embarrassed about or sensitive info. I just want it to come on when I press on.
    1 person likes this.
  7. bruben7886
    Offline

    bruben7886 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Number 5.

    Did you do factory data reset post the update? Many people on this forum swear by it to make the phone "snappier" post ota update. I haven't had an inkling of a problem. I did a fdr before (to start clean), and post ota (to clean out cache and remove residual install stuff). Try it if you haven't.
    As well, there is already a "bug fix" soon to come ota. I state this because there are already kernel leaks out there. Most people (from what I read on this forum) state that 215 leak improves battery and decreases laggyness.
    I suggest you try the fdr first.

    Edit...this may also help with a "hot screen" as I have seen this as a suggested fix on "screen hot" posts
    1 person likes this.
  8. bruben7886
    Offline

    bruben7886 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Number 4.....
    Ringer on off silent...yeah, this bites. BUT, not enough to have me dislike this different user interface. Minor inconvenience. :)

    Lunch break is up. Hope I was able to help.
  9. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Way to go Bruben! Every single post, right on target!

    Welcome aboard Cazman! I hope Bruben has given you a great start in making the best of your phone again. Some of it takes a bit to get used to but as Bruben said, any lag problems or glitches are taken care of with a factory data reset. As much as that seems like a pain, believe me, you will be happy you did.
  10. CAZMAN408
    Offline

    CAZMAN408 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all,
    Thank you all very much for all the info, I will try this after work or Saturday.
    Thanks again.
    cazman408
  11. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    820
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania