Those with the official ota need some feedback

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by pc747, May 12, 2011.

  1. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,586
    Likes Received:
    5,560
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +6,160
    Consensus is that the leak ota and the ota are exactly the same. People with the leak were getting random reboots. If you get a random reboot with the official ota I would like to know. It should not happen off the bat. You should go awhile before getting one.
     
  2. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    We have some folks on the Thunderbolt forum that are saying that they ARE the same. Also if anyone is rooted and tries to install this OTA they will loose root not to mention if you are not near your pc to remove the file from your phone, your Tbolt becomes basically useless as all it does is constant reboots and attempts to install.

    So if you are rooted it is best you stay away from this OTA it will mess your bolt up. We already had a couple over at TB forum that needed assistance getting things back up and running.
     
  3. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +317
    @TeamAndIRC
    ✔ jcase
    New OTA has exact same radios as our leak. #thunderbolt
     
  4. Jacob9424

    Jacob9424 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure there 100 percent the same...the leak was 20 something megasbites, the official one I just downloaded was like 33 I think...

    Sent from my HTC Thunderbolt
     
  5. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +317
    True, but the guts of it, or at least the radios, are supposedly identical... I heard someone say there might've been something related to Backup Assistant, but that's obviously just hearsay...
     
  6. Jacob9424

    Jacob9424 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well the radio looks the same as the leak. I have noticed that my keyboard don't lag anymore, gps works again, and 4g stays on now rather than it switching to 3g for no reason. So far no reboots. If I get one ill post here.

    Sent from my HTC Thunderbolt
     
  7. Jacob9424

    Jacob9424 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I can confirm the battery life if much better. It's been 3 hours since I updated. No reboots and the keypad hasn't lagged yet either...its definitely much better than the leak.

    Sent from my HTC Thunderbolt
     
  8. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    For the guys that had no problem: were u rooted and did u install update without unrooting?
     
  9. sincitygrrrl1

    sincitygrrrl1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just checked my phone for the OTA update and it was available, just finished installing so will have to see what improvements it makes.

    Stock TB
     
  10. twinklystar129

    twinklystar129 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also would like to know for those that didn't experience any problems, were u rooted and did you have to unroot? What if you're rooted still running the stock ROM, can we still receive this OTA without issues? I really want to get it, but I'm afraid it'll give me problems.

    Thanks!
     
  11. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    No reboots at all here....
     
  12. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +317
    Don't think I've had a single reboot on this phone - pre-ota or today.
     
Search tags for this page

how to roll back htc thunderbolt update

,

htc thunderbolt rollback android