This phone is seriously making me feel stupid....

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by cdlandrum, May 31, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. cdlandrum
    Offline

    cdlandrum New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so obviously, I'm a new Droid owner. And I'm about to pull my hair out... I want my contacts from my old phone, to be on my new phone. I have them on the little card. I put the card in the Droid, and export contacts from SD card. Then I get anywhere from 3 - 7 entries for each person. It doesn't look that way in the contact list, but if you go into a contact to edit it, it shows the same information several times. It's really starting to annoy me when I go to send a text message and I'm looking for a contact and it displays the same one half a dozen times! I don't want to sync with facebook, or anything else. I just want my contacts...name and number, and only one copy of each! What am I doing wrong? Or have I even explained this to where anyone understands what I'm trying to get across? I don't really know how to explain it, never had it happen before....
  2. silvere2
    Offline

    silvere2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How many contacts do you have?
  3. cdlandrum
    Offline

    cdlandrum New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have 83 contacts.... And they're only on the card once. I just checked to make sure.
  4. silvere2
    Offline

    silvere2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, then it might just be best to put the card in your old phone and copy them manually one by one. I did it with 250 contacts in about 45 mins - 1 hr, should take you much less. The easiest way is to add them to your gmail address book on your computer and then just sync the phone to gmail. Just sit back, listen to music, pop open a beer, and do it. You'll only have to do it once. :)
  5. cdlandrum
    Offline

    cdlandrum New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have my old phone anymore....it died :(
  6. silvere2
    Offline

    silvere2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What kind of card is it, an SD card?
  7. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    You might be able to import them thru Gmail contacts on you computer.


    transfer the contact files to your pc
    Go to your gmail account,
    click on contacts
    click on import (upper right)

    if they are in csv format it should be no problem

    Once in gmail...you might have to do a little editing...but then the phone will sync.

    you are golden

    edit: Whoops...I sorry for the repost I see that silvere2 already suggested that
    Last edited: May 31, 2010
  8. cdlandrum
    Offline

    cdlandrum New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, one of the little mini ones.....
  9. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,460
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +204
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Or take the card and your phone to a VZ store and let them do it .. I always look for the lazy way out :)
  10. Malkavian
    Online

    Malkavian Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kansas City MO
    Ratings:
    +19
    My suggestion is to determine if you can import them into your GMail account, then sync them with your droid. I had to do this with my blackberry. I got them sync from my phone to my outlook then to my GMail account then it sync to my Droid.

    See if the format of your contacts can be imported to GMail and go from there.

    Hope this helps.
    Michael
  11. cdlandrum
    Offline

    cdlandrum New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahh, that did it. Imported to gmail, then synced to Droid. Got rid of all duplicates! Thanks a bunch!
  12. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    excellent..glad that it got worked out!dancedroid
  13. Malkavian
    Online

    Malkavian Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kansas City MO
    Ratings:
    +19
    Glad that helped.
  14. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a lot easier to manage your contacts once you have them properly loaded in gmail. You'll have a lot less trouble migrating their info in the future.