This isn't a bionic!

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by wolstonc, Nov 20, 2011.

  1. wolstonc

    wolstonc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Lately my TB is acting like a bionic. Getting only 3G in 4G areas that worked before, and when it does show 4G there is no data. I will go and see that although it shows 4g it has switched its mobile data off. I've tried many reboots, nothing fixes it. I havent done anything differently, I just toggle background data on and off depending on my day. Anyone else having these issues? I would call VZW, but I used to work for them and I FEAR the clnr warranty replacements. Plus I know about any troubleshooting they would do, if not more since my gf worked for VZW tech support. And 4g is not down in my area. Any advice or anyone else having this issue?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  2. lxJGTxl

    lxJGTxl Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same issue. Ive been dropping data constantly and my mobile data will turn off on its own throughout the day and sometimes won't turn back on. I've never had problems with my tbolt before but this is a first and started yesterday.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  3. crakmasta

    crakmasta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here, and started a few days ago. I have to reboot to get data back.

    Sent via Bolt of Thunder!
     
  4. Graymayre

    Graymayre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    And I haven't had a data loss issue on my Bionic in a long time!
    Sorry guys, I hope you get it worked out.

    The answer is 42.
    Oh, wait, you mean to tell me you need to know the question now?
    Well, I can't answer that.
     
  5. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Search the forums and you'll find these data issues with all 4G phones right now. The majority of people never see a problem, but for some it's a major issue. It doesn't seem to be local specific or phone specific. It reminds me of when the original Droid was first rooted and overclock kernels were released. Some folks could not overclock above 800mhz and others, luckily me, could overclock to 1.25ghz. It appeared to be a function of who got lucky in the chip lottery. I think something similar is going on with phones and this issue. It's like some have gotten lucky with some piece of hardware or the way the radio or kernel is working. I did not have a serious problem with data loss on my Droid Bionic, but when installed the leaked OTA updates I've had virtually no problems for the last two/three weeks. I did experience some issues during the first week after implementing the leaked OTA's. But now it's really good. So it seems to be fixable.