This is Confusing and a bit Irritating

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by hookbill, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I think I've seen people discuss weird things happening to their contacts all over the the Forum, be it in the D2 area, Incredible, etc. My first thought is always "user error" or "lack of knowledge."

    I've been using a company to buy food for my parrots since 1997. I always call the 800 number leave my order and it arrives no problem. Usually I will dial it on gmail's phone because I'm at home and why waste minutes?

    But today I decided to call on my Droid, and I got a telemarketing company. I tried again, same thing. So since I was sitting in front of the computer anyway, I used gmails phone. Same thing happened.

    So I go to the website and I'll be darned if the the last group of numbers got turned around. Now I definitely did not do this. I changed it on my phone, saved and looked it on my computer and no change. I looked back at the phone and the numbers were switched again. This time I changed it in Gmail and saved it and the numbers on the phone changed too.

    This is just whacked. I'm not rooted, running stock. And to be honest it just irritates the crap out of me. I've never had this before, why now? And this didn't happen to somebody making their 3rd post.

    I find it inexcusable, if it ever happens again I will make a change.
     
  2. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +240
    I had this problem awhile back with Google Voice, except when I called, it was a Google recording saying the number was DC'd. It's a simple routing issue, but because GV is free, they don't have to provide real-time support.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. Taegost

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    What Hook is talking about isn't a simple routing issue, the phone was actually switching the number around in his contact list.
    I've had issues with my phone dialing the wrong contact, but never that it switched the actual number :(
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Exactly. And just how does that possibly happen? It doesn't make sense to me. The only way that could have happened in my mind is for me to do it, and I didn't. I 100% positive about it.

    Just checked it again in gmail. Still correct.
     
  5. rbres15

    rbres15 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had something similar happen after using the" bump" app. I had to physically change the contact back; I then uninstalled the" bump" app: hasn't recurred since.

    -People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf. --George Orwell--
     
  6. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +240
    Are the contacts backed up by Google? My wife's name is Katie, and my mom is Kathy. Whenever I put them both into the contact list, Google would assume they're the same person, and merge the contacts into a single contact. This would occur in both, my phone and online.

    Is that like your issue?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    That's not even close to what happen.

    Imagine this: You have a number in your contacts on both gmail and on your D2. The contacts name is Dr. Beex. The phone number 555.823.4985

    You've been calling this person for a year and a half on your Droid (s). You also use the contact as a way to call him on your gmail on your computer. Then you go to call this person and a tape message comes on saying you've reached a telemarketing company.

    You haven't changed the number or been anywhere near it, but for some reason in your contacts on your phone and on gmail the las two number are now 58 instead of 85. That's what happened.
     
  8. elvyrorie

    elvyrorie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    My friends Droid X added random numbers to people's contacts and removed others. It hasn't done that since he started running a custom rom.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. random190user44

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone has called the wrong contact when I clearly selected another contact before. Not the same issue, but I would definitely be annoyed if my phone were switching the number in my contacts around.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  10. Rocket Pak

    Rocket Pak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    The company may have needed to change thier number. If another company offered enougt for that number they may have sold it. Then reversed the numbers. Check an older call log when you know it was working.
     
  11. chrstdvd

    chrstdvd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    McKenney Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do not use the D2 as a phone often but I did once and had this exact same problem. So I decided to just enter the number in on the keypad. The last two digits changer before my eyes. Over and over. So, I used my Casio G'one to llace the call. Had no problem with it.
    Sorry this post won't help solve the problem, but it confirms ur problem happens to others.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  12. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Now that's an idea I hadn't thought of. But I spoke with the guy that owns the business and told him about what happened. You would have thought he would say, "Yeah, we had to change our number a bit." What he said was, "huh, that's strange."

    My call log goes all the way back to November 20th. Not one time did I use the D2 to call him, it was all done on Gmail via Google Voice.

    So looking back at that log I can confirm that it dialed the number correctly when I last ordered food. There was no change in the number, but you do get extra points for creative thinking. ;)
     
Search tags for this page
alpine cde-102 and galaxy s4
,

alpine cde-102 android