This can't be right????

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by bishoplog24, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. bje1982

    bje1982 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Ive always had a working tethering app and never had luck tethering 2 smartphones together Im curious on if it even works. Could anyone clear this up?
     
  2. bje1982

    bje1982 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    they wont really unless you use a ton of data and the red flag goes up.
     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,106
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Ratings:
    +27
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    at&t also charges for tethering....
     
  4. malsbury

    malsbury New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had good luck with this one for wired tethering: android-wired-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code

    Just download the 'wired_tether_1_2.apk' on the download page for the project and installed it as you would any non-market app.

    Windows 7/Vista have the required drivers to use the connection built in, if you are connecting it to an XP machine you will need to install the drivers located here: Remote NDIS based Internet Sharing Device Driver - xda-developers
     
  5. bje1982

    bje1982 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I know I was being sarcastic about the "verizon loves money" statement
     
  6. h_10

    h_10 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    exactly. so i'm not sure why the OP got the experience that he did.
     
  7. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using the Built-in USB Tethering option in Froyo is different. That's the "official" way to tether through Verizon. I'm not sure how specifically they handle it, but they at least authenticate with Verizon to make sure you're allowed to tether, possibly tag all of the data so they can do accounting of how much is used on tether and how much is used on the phone.

    With the root-only apps, or an app like pdanet, there isn't an easy way to tell. I say "easy", because there ARE ways to tell if the data is originating from the phone or going through a tether app. I don't know that verizon is employing any of those methods or not.
     
  8. 7h3.4pp12en7ic3

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right. I always presumed, and had been told, that Verizon isn't wasting its resources checking all origins for data, but that they do notice if there is a significant spike in usage. My advice: use LOTS of data on your phone, use tethering sparingly, and monitor your usage when you do, and it shouldn't throw up any red flags.
     
Search tags for this page

data spike verizon