Thinking of leaving Verizon, can I take my Bionic with me?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by sierrapup, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. sierrapup

    sierrapup New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So Verizon is once again raising our rates and kicking us out of our grandfathered plan. My question is, can I take my Bionic to another carrier like Sprint or T-Mobile (no way AT&T)....do I have to have it unlocked or just a new sim?

    Thanks
     
  2. FoxKat

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13,485
    Likes Received:
    3,890
    Trophy Points:
    738
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +4,294
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    The Verizon Bionic is a CDMA based phone, and so will work on CDMA based systems. I am not sure if either Sprint or T-Mobile are CDMA but I don't think so. I believe Sprint is PCS, and T-Mobile may be TDMA. In either case, if so they wouldn't be compatible.
     
  3. Snoking

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Who says they are taking away your grandfather data plan?
     
  4. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
  5. Sanitarium09

    Sanitarium09 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Possibly MetroPCS as they use both CDMA and 4G LTE.
     
  6. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,040
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    Current Phone Model:
    NEXUS 6
    Sprint will not activate the Bionic. They do not allow other carrier (unless they are MVNO on Sprint) phones to be active on their networks. You can attempt to see if they will add the Bionic to their database, but don't get your hopes up. Unlike GSM the CDMA networks have a database of MEID/ESN numbers that they can activate. Some of the smaller CDMA carriers have no problem adding those numbers to their database, but Verizon and Sprint are very difficult to work with. Last I heard in order for Verizon to add it they have to do "testing" to the phone to ensure network compatibility. Sprint on the other hand is just difficult to work with.

    Technically, you can add the Bionic to T-Mobile. Since they're GSM they're not going to care. You'll need to do some seem editing to the Bionic to enable its GSM capabilities. I'm not sure though what frequencies will work though. In the past AT&T 3G bands are normally supported while on Tmobile you'll only get EDGE.

    Bionic on tmobile - xda-developers
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2012
  7. bbtkd

    bbtkd Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +26
    You won't be able to activate it on another carrier, and if you have not fulfilled your 2 year obligation you will pay $$ to be free of it. Sprint is known for their very poor service, and the other providers do not have as good coverage as VZW overall. They all are going away from unlimited data plans. and all will do so at first opportunity by not renewing your unlimited plan.
     
  8. Tegamal

    Tegamal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not a lawyer, but if you signed a contract, they can't take away your unlimited, unless you upgrade or alter your plan in any way. Otherwise, they would be in breach of contract themselves & you could walk without paying the early termination fee.
     
  9. TatDroid

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    183
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +198
    Unless of course you're on a family plan with unlimited data. In which case, if you upgrade 1 phone on your plan (and buy a subsidised phone) Verizon will void the contracts on ALL LINES on the plan and force you to switch to a "share plan" with fixed data rates.
     
  10. nikecar

    nikecar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    Buy a phone from ebay or Craig list or swappa or pay full price. Then you keep your plan
     
  11. tennvol

    tennvol Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Pageplus works
     
  12. dave52355

    dave52355 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    According to this thread: Bionic on tmobile - xda-developers Our Bionics are way more than just a Verizon forgotten deviced. Apparently it can be used on several systems. I have not tested this myself, but have been thinking about it seriously and using my Bionic with the StraightTalk $45 dollar plan.

    Good luck!
     
Search tags for this page
bionic on straight talk
,
can a droid bionic be used on straight talk
,
can droid bionic be used with straight talk
,

can i use my droid bionic on straight talk

,
can i use my droid bionic on tmobile
,

can you use a droid bionic on straight talk

,
droid bionic on sprint
,

droid bionic on straight talk

,
droid bionic straight talk
,

will droid bionic work on straight talk