thinking of getting fascinate question

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by tannor, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. tannor

    tannor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep going back and forth at verizon and trying to figure out which phone I like. Very hard to make a decision all seem like great phones but I am drawn to the fascinate for the display, perfect size. One thing that I am worried is memory, from what I understand only has 2 GB internal. My question is how big are most andriod apps, is 2 GB really enough? Also if you run out of room can you install apps on the external card or is that only for music/images/videos? Thanks
     
  2. justinc101011

    justinc101011 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    2gb is way more than enough and app2sd Will come when we get froyo.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  3. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Apps are on the order of 2 or 3 megabytes -- large aps are 5 or 10, but there arent too many of those. I dont think 2GB will be a problem -- I'm at something like 500MB.

    Dont know about apps to SD on the fascinate.
     
  4. tannor

    tannor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you both! Ok i am going to get one for sure now, going to keep watching Best Buy see if it goes on sale if not I will pick it up at verizon. Also what is app2sd? I really know very little about andriod and its apps just know I want one =)
     
  5. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Apps2SD is exactly what it sounds like, the ability to store apps on the SD card.
     
  6. tannor

    tannor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Thanks!


    Got one more question because Verizon people are not very helpful

    I notice everytime I was browsing the web, it would open up the web page in reallly small text where it show the whole page almost like rendering at your desk instead of the mobile format I guess for example cnn.com. I know you can zoom it, but I noticed the Droid X seemed to open the web pages a bit better and did not have to zoom, just scroll up and down.

    It is not the end of the world but curious if there is a way to change that?

    Thanks
     
  7. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes and no -- Some pages simply render better - Try another broswer, like Dolphin HD.

    You can enable mobile-sites if you want, but I find them practically un-usable.
     
  8. tannor

    tannor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Great thanks when I get my phone I will definitely download it
     
  9. powell730

    powell730 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Walmart has them for $89 right now. Checked online yesterday

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  10. Eddog4DROID

    Eddog4DROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just do it. Having a Droid 1 for a year, this is a logical next step. Its also a great first step for new Android users. 2 gigs is plenty for internal. I just ordered a 32 gig external for music and other media. You can get at least 16 for cheap....

    Sent from my Fascinate using Droidforums app
     
  11. tannor

    tannor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got one more question curious what does it mean unlocked bootloader? I understand SF has it while droid X you cannot. Is that true?

    What advantage does that give me as far as I understand still can do custom roms on droid x correct?

    I plan on hacking as much as i can once i get it so is the SF a phone that is much more fun to do it with? Thanks
     
  12. dispatch1054

    dispatch1054 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi tannor. Yes, the Fascinate does have an unlocked bootloader, whereas the X does not. This means that, on the X, you wouldn't be able to flash a custom kernel to over/under clock the phone, and on the Fascinate this is not a problem. There are also a couple workarounds (if memory serves me) that you have to consider when hacking the X. However, the community being as great as it is, has found the best way to go about things, and has even managed to overclock the X using scripts instead of kernels.

    Technically, the Fascinate is much more developer friendly, but the Droid X community seems to be a little larger.

    Hope this helps!

    Edit: Once we get the 2.2 update, hopefully the Fascinate community starts to expand :)