Thinking of doing a factory reset...question first

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Wendy, Apr 22, 2010.

  1. Wendy

    Wendy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Droid is lagging a bit lately and I was thinking of doing a factory reset. I'm assuming I will have to reinstall all my apps...but is there a backup program that would help me restore the information in the apps, or do I have to re-enter everything in my third party apps?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only if you were rooted. There are backup apps that backup the apps data too, but they require root access to use.
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    If all you're doing is a factory reset out of your privacy section you really don't have to worry much about doing anything. Your third party apps will not be deleted. That would only happen if you do a hard factory reset, and for your needs that isn't required.
     
  4. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Didn't know the privacy factory reset did that. My bad. :p Thought it was no different from any other factory reset.
     
  5. Wendy

    Wendy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I guess I didn't realize there was a difference between a factory reset and a hard reset. So would a factory reset (theoretically) help the lagging problem without a hard reset?

    Can someone explain how to do just a factory reset?

    Thanks!!
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I've done both. The one in the privacy section is a soft reset. You didn't say anything wrong, your info is accurate too.
     
  7. lmapp

    lmapp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MS
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did a privacy reset when I couldn't see Google Earth in the market, and it zapped my downloaded apps. They all restored when I re-entered my Gmail info without any input from me. I had a list of all of my apps, but I didn't need it. Pretty slick.

    I had to re-do the settings in the apps, as well as re-do my ringtones, notifications and all of that. It's really not a big deal...like maybe 10 minutes after everything has downloaded from 'the cloud'.

    Obvious tip - Try to write down as many settings as you can before the reset.

    PS - To do the reset : menu - settings - privacy - factory data reset.
     
    #7 lmapp, Apr 22, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2010
  8. Christobal

    Christobal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northern, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone confirm that doing this restet makes the Droid more "snappy" again afterward? I'm noticing a slight delay from time-to-time that I had hoped would clear up after the 2.1 update.

    C
     
  9. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    I would clean up your Cache - that was my issue. I downloaded Quick App Clean Cache which makes it much easier than going from program to program to do it manually.
     
  10. Wendy

    Wendy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine is snappier...but I haven't reinstalled all my apps, only the ones I use all the time.
     
  11. Christobal

    Christobal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northern, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think this really helped. Thanks!!

    C
     
Search tags for this page
gfen android
,
gfen android hard reset
,
gfen factory reset
,
gfen hard reset
,
gfen n13 hard reset
,

gfen n29 hard reset

,
gfen tablet
,

gfen tablet hard reset

,
how to hard reset gfen tablet
,
how to reset gfen n29