1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

thinking of buying a droid have some questions

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by durxll, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. durxll
    Offline

    durxll New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Say, I was going to buy a used driod 1, and I have t mobile existing normal phone contract. Can I use the droid as a just a phone, except when I have my home wi fi broadcasting, and use the droid for internet on it.

    In other words I would be using the internet on the droid only when there is a wi fi connection around, and just as a phone when there isnt a wifi.

    Thanks in advance.
  2. Sniper_5
    Offline

    Sniper_5 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Manheim, PA
    When you Add the Droid to the plan you will be required to get the unlimited data package for smart phones.

    Sent from my DROID running UD2.1 @ 1Ghz
  3. Trenton
    Offline

    Trenton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pretty sure you can't use the droid 1 on t mobile . And if you could they would require it have a data plan.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  4. Sniper_5
    Offline

    Sniper_5 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Manheim, PA
    I missed the t mobile part, the D1 won't work on your network.

    Sent from my DROID running UD2.1 @ 1Ghz
  5. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any phones branded as "Droid" (D1, D2, DX, DPro, etc) are all Verizon phones and thus have a CDMA antenna inside of them. T-Mobile runs GSM, but offers several phones running the Android OS (just nothing branded Droid since that is specific to VZW).

    All of the Android phones will require getting a data plan upon purchase or activation. VZW does offer a 150 mb/mon plan, which would work for your purposes, but it is a plan that is highly recommended for those who are going to use Wi-Fi on the phone rather than data since these devices suck down the Mb like water.

    If you absolutely have to stay on T-Mo, I'd suggest looking into a used Nexus One. Its still stock Android like the D1, but supports GSM. Being its a Google phone (more so than any other), it'll also get any OS updates before any other phone. However, you will probably still be required to get a data plan from T-Mo.
  6. durxll
    Offline

    durxll New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok thanks guys