1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

These signal drops are getting ridiculous

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by Xproplayer, Aug 23, 2012.

  1. Xproplayer
    Offline

    Xproplayer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't go 5 minutes without having my 4g drop to bars only, then no internet for 15-30 seconds, then 3g, then after another minute, signal completely drops again, no internet for 5-10 seconds, then 4g. another 5 minutes later, bye bye 4g, start the whole cycle again. I have no idea what could be causing this, it has to be some sort of software quirk, because when I use constant data with the screen locked (tethered for 11+ hours with no problems) nothing happens, but oh no, you try and watch a 10 minute youtube video? It's going to crash the internet. Is anyone else having this problem? I would love to take it to the verizon store and just throw it at them since this shouldn't be happening. Is this a specific app that is causing this? Or do you think the whole phone could be the problem? I would app wipe it to see if that fixes it but I won't be able to get my paid apps back since applanet has been seized by the US gov.

    Any help / suggestions would be appreciated.
  2. arek
    Offline

    arek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem on my bionic I somehow got to upgrade to a razr max, getting it on Monday. From what I hear that hapens when there is too much traffic on a tower and it switches between the towers is what makes the net drop, the phone is being slow on the switch. Thats just what I heard, is it true I dont know, it sounds like it makes sence but at the same time thats bs. I got an early update because of that.I made them give me replacement phone because of that issue,it never fixed the problem it just made it worst after 3 phone replacements they gave me an early update. We will se what happens with this new phone.
  3. Caesars
    Offline

    Caesars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I switch between evdo And lte lot as well, but my coverage isn't the best. What's your coverage like?

    Googorola MAXX
  4. Xproplayer
    Offline

    Xproplayer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will verizon replace my phone for this? It never used to do this, problem just started recently and it's to the point where I can't even use my phone to browse youtube or reddit for 5 minutes without signal dropping.
  5. AirJunky
    Offline

    AirJunky New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you in the USA? Have you tried disabling Global Network Mode?
  6. Domestic violence
    Offline

    Domestic violence Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Same issue with my Nexus.... and I live less than 1/4 mile from a new tower
  7. jerry12
    Offline

    jerry12 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern North Carolina
    Every since the ICS update for the Razr there have been signal drop issues with it.
  8. Rhino94
    Offline

    Rhino94 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Detriot, MI
    They probably will replace the phone if you take it in but they might want to try some things like formatting it, etc. See Verizon has a great thing going right now but they are ****ing up. They don't have enough bandwidth on their towers and that is a cheap move on their part. They just want 4G LTE everywhere before it works in some places.
  9. merridy
    Offline

    merridy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've thought about disabling my global. Any one else done this. Mine acts the same way as his...not real happy with my 4G
  10. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    There is absolutely no reason to keep your phone in global mode unless you are traveling outside the country. It will use more battery & have more problems maintaining a connection. Keep your phone on LTE/CDMA or if poor 4g area, put it in 3g only mode using the LTE on/off app.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  11. merridy
    Offline

    merridy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unsure of the app u speak of....elaborate please :)
  12. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    To turn off global data, go to settings --->more... (under data usage) ---> mobile networks ---> network mode ---> select LTE/CDMA.

    To put your phone in 3g only (CDMA) go to play store and install the app LTE OnOFF (originally made for thunderbolt but works for us too).

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  13. merridy
    Offline

    merridy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks a lot!!
  14. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    NP. Hope you see a difference. Let us know.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  15. merridy
    Offline

    merridy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hate to worry u...but after I download the thunderbolt... do u click or do anything?
  16. Lois
    Offline

    Lois New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic
    I have mine on LTE/CDMA, and get very spotty 4G while at work, which seems to be draining my battery (or at least, something's draining my battery). Where can I fnd the LTE on/off app?
  17. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Look 4 posts above yours... in the play store.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  18. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    48
    go to the play store and download LTEOnOff, then open, follow the instructions that will pop up (cdma auto (PRL)) that will put you on 3g only. to undo just do it again or go to settings/more/mobile networks/net work mode/LTE-CDMA:biggrin:. saves bunches of bat ray for me.:biggrin:
    1 person likes this.
  19. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    48
    we don't read up. ROTFLMAO:biggrin:
  20. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Thanks Lloyd! Lois, this pretty much explains it. This should make a huge difference when in poor 4g. Let us know if you have any more questions.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
Search tags for this page
android signal drops off
,
droid razr jellybean 4g drops
,
droid razr jellybean dropping 4g
,
droid razr maxx hd keeps losing network
,
droid razr maxx keeps dropping 4g when tethering
,

droid razr maxx keeps dropping network

,
droid razr maxx poor reception jelly bean
,
droid razr signal completely drops
,
dropping 4g razr maxx
,
network signal problem upgrading to jelly bean
,
phone drops signals completely after 5 seconds
,
razr maxx 4g drop
,

razr maxx drops 4g

,
razr maxx drops 4g jelly bean
,
razr maxx keeps dropping 4g