1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Themes and backups

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by WilfulHippo, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. WilfulHippo
    Offline

    WilfulHippo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so I have two questions...first if I want to install a theme on liberty 1.5 do I have to clear caches and data or do I just install. Zip from SD? And second can I make a back up before I install the theme so if I don't like it I can go back to liberty 1.5 without that theme but not go back to stock froyo? In other words can I have multiple backups in clockwork?

    Thanks in advance

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    You can certainly have multiple back ups if you choose. When flashing themes, there's no need to wipe anything. Just flash the zip. And another easy way to get rid of the theme that doesn't require a second backup, which will take up a lot of space, is to just flash the rom again with no wipe.

    tappin and a talkin
  3. WilfulHippo
    Offline

    WilfulHippo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so this doesn't get confusing my stock froyo is going to be called 1 and liberty without any themes is 2...and I just have 2 backups I can install a theme and install it and not make a backup for it I can just restore to 2 and the theme is gone so is that right?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Yes, you can restore your liberty backup to get rid of the theme. The problem with that though is I don't think its a food idea to flash a theme over a restored rom, only a flashed one. I could be wrong but I think I remember someone saying it would cause issues. Anyway my two cents is its just easier to flash the liberty rom again to get rid of a theme than it is to restore the rom.

    tappin and a talkin
  5. WilfulHippo
    Offline

    WilfulHippo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok you seem expierenced so I am going to use your idea...thanks very much

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App