1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Theme Help

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by mkcm97, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. mkcm97
    Offline

    mkcm97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Before Pe was on gingerbread, I used to just port some theme's that I like for myself. Now, the status bar, and signal bar pngs are either not named what they used to be or they're not in the same place. I checked in drawable hdpi, and they're not named statusbar_background.9.png anymore... could any of you guys who have figured out the theming system for gingerbread give me a little help here. Thanks so much in advance, any help would be greatly appreciated..:)
  2. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Direct yourself over to SystemUI.apk it now handles status bar icons
  3. mkcm97
    Offline

    mkcm97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks man, i swapped the status bar with the old one I used to use using adb and I got a fc for the status bar. any idea's?
  4. Alastrionia
    Offline

    Alastrionia Sourcery Themer / Designr Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyside, WA
    like xcape mentioned your system ui apk has the icons and pngs for signal and the widgets.

    for the pulldown so far the only png I'm messing with is the "shade_bg.png"
    by swapping that out you'll have your custom background on the pulldown, and transparency.

    the other being your statusbarclose is just the usual as it has been before.

    I'm still working on the color behind the widgets in the pulldown. grey just isn't the best choice , lol
  5. mkcm97
    Offline

    mkcm97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks, but any idea why my status bar force closed?
  6. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    is there anything special about your status bar that makes it different than the normal one? transparent, opaque, different size, etc...?

    Just trying to narrow down the possibilities
  7. Alastrionia
    Offline

    Alastrionia Sourcery Themer / Designr Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyside, WA
    one thing that caused mine to FC at first was messing with the "status_bar" background and "statusbar" background. I just left them black and haven't had any issues since, and I made sure the guides were left alone on them as well.

    I've noticed that .9.pngs are bit more picky than usual with GB (at least from what I've seen so far)
  8. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    More than likely an issue with how the SystemUI.apk is being recompiled when you're pushing back... this is the same issues with MetaMorph trying to push in custom pulldowns, it FC's constantly once it tries to apply the changes...
    if you want to change more than just the shade_bg.png, then you'll likely need to decompile the apk...let me know if that's what you want to do, I can let you know how to make SystemUI.apk decompilable if you want to try...
  9. mkcm97
    Offline

    mkcm97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks man, that's what I was looking for. What if I just put into update.zip formate, then will I still have to decompile it?
  10. mkcm97
    Offline

    mkcm97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it's just a whitish silver with a little gradient. it was from an mdpi theme, but it was ported to hdpi and worked fine on 4.2..
Similar Threads
  1. Konvict313
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    521
  2. jbrock98
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    391
  3. hockinson
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    332
  4. WilfulHippo
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    791
  5. amandamcn
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    730
Loading...