The Unrootable OG Droid

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by vagabond, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. vagabond
    Offline

    vagabond New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So i've been trying to root this OG Droid 1 ( FRG83G froyo 2.2.2 ) and i'm seriously about to rage hardcore.
    Things i've tried:
    Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum (With / without newest versions of RSD lite and moto drivers )
    One click root ( It deceived me and told me it was rooted when in fact it wasn't )
    -i can tell it wasn't rooted because i couldn't run *root* required applications like rom manager. It says i have the superuser app but it doesn't work...


    What it's doing now:
    I'm wanting to put my faith in this rsdlite sbf business, but i cannot for the life of me get the droid to even appear in the rsd lite grid so i can begin rooting it. It just doesn't happen.
    Also, can't hold x and get into stock recovery. It just sits there with the little droid fella and the caution triangle....mocking me. Have to pull battery to get out of it.

    Posting here to see if anyone's got any gotcha's that i might be missing. Other than all this phone boots up and operates. Don't have it activated though so calling/texting are out.
    also, i'm on Win7 pro x64.
     
  2. GeLopez
    Offline

    GeLopez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    win 7pro 64 may be your problem. run it on an xp system.
     
  3. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,307
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,607
  4. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    Maybe, z4root is supposedly unable to root Droid after 2.2 update however the gingerbreak.apk might, I think its on xda too though

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  5. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Have you installed motoconnect?

    I only ask because it will install the latest drivers for you.

    Also, what version of RSDLite?

    Metalspring is correct. 2.2.2 cannot be one-click rooted.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. vagabond
    Offline

    vagabond New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think i was using motoconnect. I notice when i go to do the rsd step, the driver changes over from adb whatever to moto flash connect in device manager and the machine acts like it's installing the driver and what not. But nothing ever shows up in rsd. I've tried a few different versions of rsd lite from what's suggested in said walkthrough up to latest one.... (5.3 i think?) No dice...same song, next verse...... same as the first.
    going to try an xp machine here sometime soon...
     
  7. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Ok, but motoconnect should be disabled. I just suggested it to be sure you have the latest driver. Motoconnect will interfere with RSDLite.

    Oh and to get into stock recovery at the Caution symbol, you have to push volume down then camera button I believe.
     
  8. vagabond
    Offline

    vagabond New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol, that would probably have something to do with it. I'll square that away and let you know what i find. It's always the simple things...my laptop i was doing it with is a couple hundred miles away as i'm out of town right now. gimme a day or so.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
  9. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    I'll be standing by.
     
  10. vagabond
    Offline

    vagabond New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok so it appears that i'm still SOL. Same symptoms, turns out i didn't have moto-connect installed. I'm throwing in some screens though to show you what i'm looking at...... maybe it'll help.

    RSD Version: RSD Lite 5.3.1

    moto driver:
    Motoroal USB Device/Flash Interface version 3.2.11.10 (this is what's got me confused, this one only shows up when i am in the bootloader)

    View attachment 39199

    moto Driver : Mot Composite ADB Interface driver date: 5/19/2011 version: 1.2.7.0 (this is what i'm used to seeing, only available while phone "on" (in the os) , and i'm transferring files between it and my pc.
    View attachment 39200

    thanks-
     
  11. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Ok, you can't attach pics to the forum. Try hosting them somewhere and then linking them. Or you can PM me and I will look at them.

    This was Windows 7 correct? You are running RSDLite as Administrator yes?

    Once I see the pics, I should be able to tell you more.
     
  12. vagabond
    Offline

    vagabond New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wanted to report back and let everyone know that i've resolved the problem. (many thanks to guidot) I've been able to obtain root, install cwm recovery and install CM7. I eventually had to just use a 32bit windows xp environment with its respective drivers. I would also like to report that it's possible to completely virtualize a WinXP installation via vmware and do anything and everything you need to do as far as rsd lite and using sbf goes.

    Many thanks.:)
     
  13. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Good to hear from you!

    Glad you got it straightened out. Welcome to the dark side.

    Sent from my A855, while on the move.