The OTA update failed and retries every two days...can I stop it or?

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by Coupe, May 8, 2013.

  1. Coupe

    Coupe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indy
    Ratings:
    +0
    So now that I have an unlocked boot loader and am rooted I have an issue.

    Every time this update tries to install the phone ends up at the system recovery screen and at the bottom it says "wrong task iD 221384e : error in / cache/fumo/otapkg. Status aborted.."


    This is getting old, is there anything I can do to either get it installed or stop it from hijacking my phone.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2013
  2. Bpowder33

    Bpowder33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    after searching Ive found:

    try freezing HtcDm.apk

    or mr. smith posted remove/disable OTAupdate.apk
     
  3. Coupe

    Coupe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indy
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, its good to know that it is possible. Although, I dont know how to do wither of those things?

    I will google it.

    Ahh, the HTCDM is in the apps section right? I find HTC DM and HTC command service. Is it either of those?
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2013
  4. Bpowder33

    Bpowder33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    ya they should both be in system apps.... you can use titanium backup to freeze system apps... try freezing the htc dm apk first then reboot... i cant really confirm for you because I'm not stock...
     
  5. Coupe

    Coupe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indy
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahh. It looks like I need another app to freeze the .APK

    Any known issues with just deleting the OTAupdate.apk? I cant find it with my file explorer, does anyone know where bouts its located?


    EDIT: I posted while you were typing! Thanks, I have titanium!
     
  6. Coupe

    Coupe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indy
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I only have the free version of Titanium so I cant use it to freeze...drat.
     
  7. Bpowder33

    Bpowder33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    try ultimate backup
     
  8. Coupe

    Coupe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indy
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks....but I dont know if I want another backup software on the phone, I am guessing "Ultimate backup" will need to stay on the phone to keep it frozen? Should I consider switching from titanium to Ultimate all together? I gotta say I am pondering doing that if titanium wont even let me freeze an app, but is ultimate as good in other areas?
     
  9. Bpowder33

    Bpowder33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Ive never used ultimate but several here have highly recommended it...Ive used titanium backup PRO since the D1 days and have never had an issue...
     
  10. Coupe

    Coupe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indy
    Ratings:
    +0
    I saw this on XDA forum and am going to see if it works over the next few days.

    I just renamed them...
     
  11. Coupe

    Coupe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indy
    Ratings:
    +0
    And thank you Bpowder....! If this does not work I will try ultimate.
     
  12. Bpowder33

    Bpowder33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    No problem, let me know what works as I'm sure others will be asking :happy3:
     
Search tags for this page
android ota update failed
,
android update failed
,
how to disable htcdm
,

htcdm

,

htcdm app

,
htcdm stopped working
,
ota update failed
,
rezound stop ota
,
verizon ota update failed
,
what is htcdm