The one step update to 5.7.893 update..inside...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by jeremym, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. jeremym

    jeremym Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Since im not rooted or using custom roms i used the first option on this thread to update to 5.7.893 directly. There are steps also for those of you who are not using stock to start off with: Leaked 5.7.893 Full update (.886 --> .893) - Android Forums
     
  2. Speeding Wheels

    Speeding Wheels Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,555
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    Ratings:
    +16
    I'm going from fully stock, no root.. no mods of any kind.
    Just wondering if anybody knows for sure if I have to do step one in that thread, flashing back to stock?
    Dosent seem like I should have to but I want to make sure.

    Going to run the update in the morning.. my phone is only at 20% or so right now so it's best I wait for a full charge.
     
  3. jeremym

    jeremym Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    i was at stock 100% so i just did the first one. However the second set of instructions tell you to proceed if you are at 5.5.x version on to each step. I would just start at whatever firmware version you are at.
     
  4. Speeding Wheels

    Speeding Wheels Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,555
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    Ratings:
    +16
    updated last night.. so far so good.
    then again, I wasnt having any major issues to begin with.
     
  5. Mullens

    Mullens New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Everything good here except for the unavailable webtop. I don't know if its really a big deal but its definitly not the same...

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  6. 2THEXTRM

    2THEXTRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +6
    My webtop is up-to-date under "My Phone" in settings but my standard dock is not working as it did before the update. When initially placed in cradle I do get the three options but if I go to my homescreen while still docked I am unable to return to the dock screen as I was before by entering dropdown menu and chosing dock again.

    Updated yesterday morn. Unrooted and no previous updates. Quick n easy. Have noticed improved battery life and camera that responds fairly quick now. Was hopin for less lag during regular use but no change for me. I have had no negative effects so far.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2011
  7. ChevyNexus

    ChevyNexus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Toledo Ohio
    Ratings:
    +10
    You have lag with this phone o.o
     
  8. haimez

    haimez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, everyone knows faster hardware just means more preinstalled bull* to slow it down.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 5, 2011
  9. jeremym

    jeremym Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Up to the top...people seem to still be updating to the older one...
     
  10. csparrow55

    csparrow55 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rooted/stock with forever root. I used the second method (required a total of 4 reboots)
    Very happy with Bionic now. No more data loss issue. No more headset whine. Better camera. This is what Bionic should have been. It's a shame we have to hack a new phone to make it work right.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2011
  11. csparrow55

    csparrow55 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    P.S. Motorola really dropped the ball. A lot of people will never know how great the Bionic can be. By the time Motorola gets around to issuing their "official update", they'll be a number of newer phones out in the market.
     
  12. jeremym

    jeremym Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just had a random reboot...other than that things are going great.
     
  13. 2THEXTRM

    2THEXTRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +6
    I had a random reboot yesterday too. Never had one before update but might not be related anyway

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  14. jeremym

    jeremym Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I will just post it to be clear though...I have had one random reboot before i patched this phone. Its just something probably still in the works as an official fix here soon i hope.
     
  15. kyle4269

    kyle4269 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else having a problem with apps not being compatible? I was using the CBS sports app and now its not in the market.. I found it on the market place website and now its saying its not compatible. Thanks!