The Official: I am having reception issues thread

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by pc747, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. tituswife
    Offline

    tituswife Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Only 3G here, but I've been told since it's a 4G device, that my phone still uses 4G towers. Should I try a new SIM card?

    I have placed enough calls re losing/slow data, that finally a second tier tech put in a ticket to have towers here checked. I'll receive a call back. It may prove to be persistent.

    Sent from my stock Thunderbolt
  2. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ty for the tip
  3. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do you live in a 4g area?
  4. Liderc
    Offline

    Liderc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I honestly don't know enough to tell you a definitive yes or no. I wouldn't imagine a new sim would help if you're only using 3G, although I know one person here made a post that couldn't get any data at all because their sim card wasn't installed correctly, so it's possible that the sim card does more than we're aware of.
  5. tituswife
    Offline

    tituswife Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You're welcome for the persistence tip. Even the Bible says that!

    No, not in 4G area. About 200 miles west of the closest, Lincoln, NE.

    Sent from my stock Thunderbolt
  6. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Heres how my trip to the verizon store went.

    first they did not know that i had rooted and unlocked the bootloader. (i rerooted and locked before i went...) so thats a plus.

    All they did was replace the sim card. i was kinda pissed off, since i was almost sure that the problem would still be evident. They said that the signal issue with the galaxy nexus was not a known problem (which is pure bs). i also went as far as comparing the speed using the speed test app. (they said it was a third party app but i said it doesnt matter, its a known name and optimum online is a known company to compare). So my galaxy nexus 4g vs the razr 4g. who will win? of course my galaxy nexus dominated it wiht 26k kbs, vs the 18 the razr was getting, in a verizon store. Im like, really? I try a few more tests wiht it and i get the same results each time. I then preceded to try on the test galaxy nexus and it was either equal, or mine was better.

    As i was leaving the store, 4g dropped for a second, then came back...

    This is how i left. Im going to try the new sim card, if it works then hallelujah and if it doesnt, theyll give me a replacement phone.
  7. kimintenn
    Offline

    kimintenn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm still having signal issues with my Nexus and thought I'd post a quick update... last week spoke to tech support online and they just wanted me to do a hard reset. Went into a store to do a side by side test... the other Nexus was -75, the Rezound was -57 and my own Nexus was -110! I don't really understand all the technical jargon but from what I've read the difference between -110 and -57dbm is supposedly huge.

    Verizon is sending me a new SIM card overnight so that I can try it just to see if that is the problem. They told me that they were aware of signal issues and the update in March was supposed to fix it. I'm hoping this SIM card fixes things because I can't wait until March for the upgrade. I'm going to trade for the Rezound if this doesn't do it.
  8. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,552
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    Trophy Points:
    113
  9. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,552
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    Trophy Points:
    113
  10. chewy74
    Offline

    chewy74 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i havent got past 2 bars for signal strength...

    wow, thats horrible

    should i try to get a new sims card before rooting?
  11. 480Ruger
    Offline

    480Ruger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Three new cells and two SIMs and it still has half the signal of the Bionic side by side.
    GN =100-120 to DB=55-79.
  12. Liderc
    Offline

    Liderc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your Bionic only shows the 3G signal.
  13. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,552
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Bionic is having their fair share of data connection issues believe me.
  14. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Here is my experience with the Nexus after 7 days:

    Phone reception is fine, data reception is another story. IF I keep it I will hold out hope a baseband update can make data reception stronger. The G Nex has yet to see 4G in my apt. I put my razr on my window sill, was showing 1x, was about to wait to see if it would connect to LTE and I forgot it was on cdma. I set it to LTE. It lost signal, went to 1x, 3G and 4G in about 3-5 minutes. The G Nex in the same spot never saw 4G after 2-3 hours I just gave up. Toggling Airplane mode, networks didnt change a thing. My case is extreme cuz for me to even see 4G in my apt is amazing.

    Earlier my RAZR dropped the connection going from a good to a weaker reception area. Aaww... At the same time...the Nexus went to 3G and stayed there. Yeaaa. Wild part is when the RAZR got LTE back...the G Nex was still on 3G. ??? I tested the Nexus and it really was still on 3G while the RAZR had no connection, web page was still working on the Nexus. Nexus eventually got 4G back, but after the RAZR did. And that was with the RAZR dropping the connection all the way.

    Was using Wifi in my apt on the Nexus. Went outside, took it off. The switch over from no signal, 1x, 3G 4G was fast. Same scenario with my RAZR one time...it was slower with me probably having to toggle Airplane Mode and networks to get it back.

    In a really good reception area, the G Nex was consistently faster than my RAZR by 5-6 Mbps, so it aint the hardware with my phone, cant be. It shows it can perform, right? So what in the world is going on....lol.

    Between Moto, Samsung and HTC....Moto and Samsung have their own LTE chips, HTC is using some by Qualcomm. I think the Qualcomm one might be the best right now between them for LTE, followed by either Moto or Samsung. Or maybe the antenna being on the battery door helps the Rezound. I havent tried 4.0.3 radios, wont unless I decide to keep it. Maybe software updates will help both phones, or both phones need to be exchanged.

    And ppl really need to stop going by bars n decibels when comparing the G Nex to another phone or for reception in general, just go by real world use.
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012
  15. Riley
    Offline

    Riley New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    I thought the Gnex has a Qualcomm chip in it? I just peeled a tiny sticker off the bottom my my Gnex near the charge port that said Qualcomm 4G.
  16. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    If thats the case....then what in the world is going on? I dont get it.... I see the sticker on mine too...lol. ALl I know is I'm about to try to flash 4.0.3 radios and see if that helps.
  17. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Flashed the 4.0.3 radios.... saw 4G by my window sill for a hot second...lol. Hasnt been back since, couldnt even do a speed test before it disappeared. 3G is better tho, thats including away from my window. Back to a constant 3G only at my window sill. Baseband updates might can fix it. There is hope. Question is will there be enough baseband updates to adress it completely or better? I got a feeling that for some ppl the 4.0.3 radios did improve some things.

    Need to also flash the leak for the RAZR to see what that does. As of right now the G Nex with 4.0.3 radios has better 3G speeds in my apt than my other phones, including the RAZR.

    Those that got a Nexus, you better use its biggest strength: installing updates yourself.
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
  18. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    I believe it's half and half.

    After getting the Nexus and having the outage on the same weekend, I was worried about the unit.

    but I've also seen improvements in my area overall.

    It's still not perfect, but getting better. I tend to believe it is harder on most of us who are in fringe areas where it is switching over more as it tries to get a good signal either way, and in that vein I think VZ's network strategy is not working out in that regard. Trying to auth back onto 3G when that network never had it before is something they need to correct.

    I'm ready to flash the 4.0.3 radios, but am holding off, may ride until OTA release this month, if it doesn't come may do it anyway. I believe it will assist those in fringe areas, and make the overall experience better.
  19. TeeX
    Offline

    TeeX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    has there been an announcement (or leaked info) indicating that 4.0.3 will be released this month?


    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  20. eseloco918
    Offline

    eseloco918 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Forgive me, I tired to see if it was already addressed in this thread but there is a bit too much to read through...

    At first I seemed to be having the most problems with my data connection indoors. Fine, I can live with that, I have wifi in my apartment.
    But lately, it seems like it takes 5 minutes to connect to anything anytime the data connection changes. Since the phone automatically switches between 3 and 4g (which I appear to be on a fringe area for 4g, at least for this phone) using my phone makes me want to beat my head into a wall. It is almost becoming worthless.

    Anything I can do?
Search tags for this page
-95dbm 2asu signal
,
are they going to fix verizon reception problems
,
fixing reception issues on page plus
,
galaxy nexus issues fixed
,

galaxy nexus reception fix

,
galaxy s3 antenna fix
,
galaxy s3 reception issues
,
internet paraphernalia for droids
,

samsung galaxy s3 reception fix

,
verizon signal strength 2asu
,
what does this mean -106 dbm 34 asu
,
what is a good signal strength dbm and asu