The New Market...

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by MattyP, Jan 7, 2011.

  1. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    Has anyone else had issues with app updates failing in the new Market?

    I can't remember ever having an app fail to update, until the new version of the Market came to my phone. I just performed updates on 15 apps, and 6 of them said "failed to update"... and it says "Unknown reason - 18"

    Tried rebooting the phone, and trying the updates again, same thing. All the others updated fine with no hassles.

    Anyone else? :)
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Go to Settings/Applications/Manage Applications/All Applications/Market. Delete bothe data and cache.
     
  3. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    Nope, same problem. Cleared data and cache, went back to Market, same thing. Cleared data and cache again, rebooted the phone, then went back to Market and same issue. "Update unsuccessful, unknown reason - 18" :(
     
  4. mszv

    mszv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    None of my apps that can go on the SD card update anymore. This was a problem reported elsewhere. I haven't contacted Verizon (or Motorola - Morotorla Droia) yet, though I know I should.

    What I have to do.
    Move the app to the phone, not the SD card
    power down, remove the SD card
    Update that app, it updates successfully
    Move app back to SD card.

    Pocket Legends reports that (or something like that) as a fix, when their game would not update.
     
  5. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    Winner winner, chicken dinner!! dancedroid

    All of the apps that had an epic fail on updating were on the SD card. I moved one of them to the phone, updated it, and it worked. Moved the rest of them to the phone, hit "Update All" and away they went. Worked like a charm

    Although I didn't have to remove the SD card, but just moving them to the phone worked. So I am just going to leave those apps on the phone, no sense having to move them back and forth every time there's an update available.

    Thank you very much!! :)
     
  6. mszv

    mszv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see you ave the Droid 2. I have the original Droid, and I need the space, so I need to put as much as possible on the SD card.

    I'll try moving the apps to the phone, updating them, and then moving them back to the card, without doing the interim step of removing the SD card.

    This is not a solution, it's a workaround. I'd really like it to work the way it's supposed to, but I just haven't been able to bring myself to contact Verizon, or should it be Motorola, or Google? You know, tech support, always such a pain.
     
  7. dcook12

    dcook12 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the original droid also and have not had this problem. Maybe it's a droid 2 issue only?? Probably no help, but I thought this might just be a problem with a certain model to maybe narrow it down.
     
  8. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8

    Nope, I have a Droid 2 with lots of apps on the SD card and I've never had this issue.
     
  9. JimmyStewart

    JimmyStewart Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    This was true for my Droid 2 Global as well. Removing the SD card was what it took to finally allow me to update these apps. Simply moving them to the phone wasn't enough. VERY FRUSTRATING. Thank you very much for the solution though, it had been a pretty major issue for a while and I hadn't found any solutions online until yours. :)