1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

The new 4G/CDMA Radio Files

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by You Aint Afraid Of Me, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. You Aint Afraid Of Me
    Offline

    You Aint Afraid Of Me New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I just flashed the new radios and my signal has gotten much stronger. I can even get 4g in my house now, which I couldn't get before. I was just wondering if everyone had a positive impact or if some got worse. I remember with the OG Droid some radio updates were pretty iffy.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  2. ruvy01
    Offline

    ruvy01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wastefield, New England
    also got better 4g coverage, got 4g before the update at work but it would go away after leaving the parking lot, now i have 4g until im entering my city which is a extended 4g area but i get no 4g here. btw what is this extended 4g junk, is it just a waste so verizon can say they have 4g in certain areas, i get no 4g whatsoever,
  3. ???
    Offline

    ??? New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    while files did you flash?
  4. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. AspenSTi
    Offline

    AspenSTi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    I have had 0 change with the new radios. My signal strength is the exact same, (both dbs and bars for what its worth). Wifi and 3g/4g swap speed are the same (was fast before, so not much change). So i guess i am right where i was before, hoped for better results, but cant complain that it didnt get any worse.
  6. duyna
    Offline

    duyna Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South of Boston
    I actually have better results with this update, no more grey signal bars and lost of service

    axiom 2.2 powered apex oc kernel 1.4 G-Nex
  7. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup this radio update definitely works better holding the signal.
  8. ???
    Offline

    ??? New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just updated my radio to it, in my break room at work where I got switching every few minutes, it was able to hold a bar or two of 4g for the last hour of the day. much better.


    hope they keep improving
  9. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Thought at first no improvement but it got better after a couple days. I never had reception problems though...just flashed them anyway

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  10. BCrawford
    Offline

    BCrawford New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southeast PA
    Never had any reception issues. I flashed the new ones a couple days ago and the switch between 3g and 4g is much smoother. I've definitely noticed extra bars as well. Still can't get 4g inside, but my house is built like a fortress.
  11. Caligula2008
    Offline

    Caligula2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't wait to try these out

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  12. thebird36
    Offline

    thebird36 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    just flashed and i'm going to wait till tomorrow to see cause my school has only 3g and once i walk out it's 4g sooo i'm hoping these work
  13. djsiva
    Offline

    djsiva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Mine only improved a little, still having issues. I love this phone, but the signal strength I received on my Thunderbolt and Bionic was so much better. I really hope they work this issue out.
  14. adr3nalin3
    Offline

    adr3nalin3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County
    Do we need to wipe before flashing the new radio?
  15. thebird36
    Offline

    thebird36 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Nope no need to wipe just install zip
  16. djsiva
    Offline

    djsiva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL

    Nope...no need to wipe...
  17. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    ok the thought og having bars in my house is tempting. You know though, even though i got nothing inside a structure, I have never had an issue making calls, sending texts, getting on the net, etc... installing anyway.. unlocked and I can go back of ihave to..lol LOVE THIS PHONE
  18. bwillie
    Offline

    bwillie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Way better!!!!!!! Two bars on 3g!!

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  19. streetmike
    Offline

    streetmike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    So I flashed the 4.0.3 radios last night and at first I thought it froze while uploading the files because the cube inside Andy wasn't spinning and the status bar didn't move. But it restarted after a few and I checked and had the newest radios installed. So I was averaging about 2mbps faster download and a little better signal at my house (in the same position). So when I woke up this morning I couldn't get any data connection. Restarted and toggled airplane. When I got to work I reflashed the 4.0.2 radios and I still couldn't get data. I had to use my nandroid I had made just before I flashed. What do you think happened? Maybe the files were corrupt? I downloaded them straight to the nexus and used rom manager to locate the file in the downloads folder. Should it have been in the main directory?
  20. vicky1377
    Offline

    vicky1377 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Guys, can you flash radio on a stock rom. I'm rooted and unlocked boot loader. Or do I have to flash custom rom first? And do I need to make nandroid backup just in case.


    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

have the 4g verizon radios gotten better

,

radio flashed cdma apk

,

radio update to xt912

,

razr xt912 mr2 aokp rom have 3g?

,

theme chooser for motorola droid razr xt912

,

xt 912 flash a new 4gradio