The importance of wiping

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by kiyanofosho, May 3, 2010.

  1. kiyanofosho

    kiyanofosho Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many of you complain about problems your having. Believe it or not these could mostly be solved if you only wiped when you flashed your new rom! I flash new roms left and right. And when I do, I rarely have problems. I've had literally one common problem with UD10. I've flashed and tried EVERY rom. And haven't ran into a problem yet. I know you don't want to lose your apps, but would you rather have stability and speed over something you can easily redownload? Instead of everyone reading 8 million post in EVERY thread, JUST WIPE before you installl a new rom. It will save you and others endless amounts of time.

    Currently on BB1.0

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  2. JFDroid

    JFDroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Amen. I rarely, if ever, have had any issues with any ROMs I've flashed over the past 2-3 months. I *always* wipe my data & cache before flashing a new ROM. Wiping just makes sense if you want to avoid a buggy, slow and horrible experience.
     
  3. vinnard

    vinnard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thread title made me lol. Good advice, though ;)
     
  4. audioman42

    audioman42 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, it's always important to make sure there's no sh1t left behind...
     
  5. AnneDroid

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0

    I thought the same thing at first. :rofl3: :rofl3:
     
  6. The Rick

    The Rick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is very true. It makes apps like titanium backup a total waste though. I wish I could just install the data from swype, games, bookmarks. I couldn't care less about having to redownload ~40-50 apps, it takes only a few minutes
     
  7. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0

    I always wipe once ;)
     
  8. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you mean clearing data and wiping the cache makes Titanium backup a waste? I thought it was supposed to be the best in restoring apps, data and market links after wiping data!?!
     
  9. B-Unit

    B-Unit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    ^+1

    Thats the entire POINT of having a backup software, so that when you wipe, everything comes back just like you had it.
     
  10. DroidxRage

    DroidxRage Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England - Home of Champions
    Ratings:
    +0
    AFAIK Cyanogen recommends that you install apps via market, not a backup software.

    I switched to Cyan and manually reloaded my Apps from the market to SD, now any time I switch ROM's, I just make sure the new ROM supports Apps2SD and I never have to reinstall anything.

    But yes, wiping is important when switching ROM's.
     
  11. The Rick

    The Rick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    that is exactly my point is that backup software does not always work well when going between roms. When its a minor update or something, sure it works fine. When i've switched in a major way, it never works properly and causes more problems then its worth (a majority of the time). A prime example is going from a apps2sd supported rom to a non supported one, the backup was useless and did nothing for me at all. It wouldn't even run.
     
  12. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    And here I thought the whole time it was to avoid those nasty skid marks. Learn something new every day!
     
Search tags for this page

caring continuum