The importance of wiping

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by kiyanofosho, May 3, 2010.

  1. kiyanofosho

    kiyanofosho Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many of you complain about problems your having. Believe it or not these could mostly be solved if you only wiped when you flashed your new rom! I flash new roms left and right. And when I do, I rarely have problems. I've had literally one common problem with UD10. I've flashed and tried EVERY rom. And haven't ran into a problem yet. I know you don't want to lose your apps, but would you rather have stability and speed over something you can easily redownload? Instead of everyone reading 8 million post in EVERY thread, JUST WIPE before you installl a new rom. It will save you and others endless amounts of time.

    Currently on BB1.0

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  2. JFDroid

    JFDroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Amen. I rarely, if ever, have had any issues with any ROMs I've flashed over the past 2-3 months. I *always* wipe my data & cache before flashing a new ROM. Wiping just makes sense if you want to avoid a buggy, slow and horrible experience.
     
  3. vinnard

    vinnard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thread title made me lol. Good advice, though ;)
     
  4. audioman42

    audioman42 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, it's always important to make sure there's no sh1t left behind...
     
  5. AnneDroid

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0

    I thought the same thing at first. :rofl3: :rofl3:
     
  6. The Rick

    The Rick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is very true. It makes apps like titanium backup a total waste though. I wish I could just install the data from swype, games, bookmarks. I couldn't care less about having to redownload ~40-50 apps, it takes only a few minutes
     
  7. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0

    I always wipe once ;)
     
  8. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you mean clearing data and wiping the cache makes Titanium backup a waste? I thought it was supposed to be the best in restoring apps, data and market links after wiping data!?!
     
  9. B-Unit

    B-Unit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    ^+1

    Thats the entire POINT of having a backup software, so that when you wipe, everything comes back just like you had it.
     
  10. DroidxRage

    DroidxRage Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England - Home of Champions
    Ratings:
    +0
    AFAIK Cyanogen recommends that you install apps via market, not a backup software.

    I switched to Cyan and manually reloaded my Apps from the market to SD, now any time I switch ROM's, I just make sure the new ROM supports Apps2SD and I never have to reinstall anything.

    But yes, wiping is important when switching ROM's.
     
  11. The Rick

    The Rick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    that is exactly my point is that backup software does not always work well when going between roms. When its a minor update or something, sure it works fine. When i've switched in a major way, it never works properly and causes more problems then its worth (a majority of the time). A prime example is going from a apps2sd supported rom to a non supported one, the backup was useless and did nothing for me at all. It wouldn't even run.
     
  12. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    And here I thought the whole time it was to avoid those nasty skid marks. Learn something new every day!
     
  13. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Wiping is really subjective.

    It depends on what rom are you are coming from/going to, and what changes were made between roms. Building roms has given me a much better understanding of how the rom installation works, and why sometimes it can bite ya in the ass when not wiping.
     
  14. phatneff

    phatneff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm glad I read this. I'm on UD10 - Updated and I was about ready to chuck my phone against a wall out of frustration! I came from BB to UD10, and I DID wipe in the process. However, I did NOT wipe prior to the update, so maybe that's causing some of the problems I'm having. I may even go back to BB, but it was running much hotter with my OC'ing and UD10 was keeping it cool. I don't want to keep switching ROM's but I would like to get the most stable ROM that allows the highest possible OC'ing with the coolest temps and the least amount of issues. Anyone have any idea which ROM that may be before I wipe and reinstall???
     
  15. computermystro

    computermystro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What I do is that I delete the backup folder on the Sd card, then re backup everything before changing roms, this has fixed all my issues with backups causing issues.
     
Search tags for this page

caring continuum