The hotspot and vista OS on laptop

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by fiddlemanchris, Aug 18, 2012.

  1. fiddlemanchris
    Offline

    fiddlemanchris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, not really sure where this belongs. But I have a DROID RAZR maxx, and I can't get the hotspot to connect with my Acer laptop which has vista OS. I was wondering if anyone could help me out on what I'm doing wrong. I can tether it directly and it works. This is a replacement phone from the insurance company. But the phone I had prior to this was the exact same thing and had no problem with it connecting. So can anyone help?
  2. aktrazer
    Offline

    aktrazer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    Have you tried a different hotspot application? Like FoxFi?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX Limited Edition using Droid Forums
  3. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Foxfi works on my Bionic with a Vista laptop
  4. fiddlemanchris
    Offline

    fiddlemanchris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not even sure what that is. That a app?
  5. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Foxfi is an app from the play store
  6. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,472
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Yes. Foxfi is a tethering app. Its free in the play store. It works well. I use it a lot.
  7. cr6
    Offline

    cr6 DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    291
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    +1....Foxfi is a great tethering app!
    :thumbup:

    tap'n
  8. fiddlemanchris
    Offline

    fiddlemanchris New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I downloaded the foxfire app. And tried it out and it doesn't work either. I'm thinking it must be a setting that got changed either on my phone or my laptop. What y'all think?
  9. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Sounds like a setting on your laptop.
  10. wendee2150
    Offline

    wendee2150 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does Verizon charge you for using Foxfi to tether your phone to something?
  11. aktrazer
    Offline

    aktrazer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    Nope. Just goes against your data usage on your plan.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX Limited Edition using Droid Forums
Search tags for this page

android hotspot won't work with windows vista

,

cannot connect my laptop with windows vista to my galaxy s4

,

hot spot trouble connecting to computer with verizon droid r

,
how do i use my phone as a hotspot for my acer computer
,

how to connect laptop to verizon hotspot

,

laptop with vista will not connect to verizon hotspot

,

problem connecting acer laptop to htc hot spot

,
verizon hotspot windows vista
,

vista hotspot problem

,

vista hotspot problems

,

windows vista hotspot set up with htc droid dna

,

windows vista laptop can't connect to galaxy s3 hotspot