The "Got my D3"/ first impressions thread

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by Stevelord, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. malaka

    malaka Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine is rotating fine...doesnt go upside down but the two portraits and rightside up are working for me
     
  2. KidCuda

    KidCuda Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The sim card is there because it's a global phone. Just not as advertised like the droid 2 vs droid 2 global
     
  3. Stevelord

    Stevelord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right. Same here.

    Your homescreen? You sure? If you open an app, it will rotate fine.
     
  4. n8sco

    n8sco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's rotating fine within the apps themselves but if I turn the phone horizontally on any of the homescreens then it stays in it's vertical configuration. I mean it's honestly not that serious and I'll probably get used to it but I feel like it was working when I first started using the phone.
     
  5. Maverick0984

    Maverick0984 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I can't get the battery cover off, lol. Afraid to force it.
     
  6. socalsx

    socalsx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    maybe its part of motoblur.. launcher pro had the option to lock the home screen which i actually prefer. doesn't rotate by accident and looks better for me anyways.. check the preferences
     
  7. Immolate

    Immolate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    An aggressive OS will keep RAM nearly filled to ensure that the most likely thing you'll need next is already in the fastest storage area possible. There's a sweet spot for every OS, and the benefits you achieve for going past that sweet spot are of rapidly diminishing value. I'm not saying that RAM above 512MB is wasted. I have absolutely no idea. I'm just saying that free RAM is not necessarily a useful metric.
     
  8. srgolub

    srgolub New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  9. BleedingPurist

    BleedingPurist Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds good to me and well thought out. I hate the home screen rotating. You take it out of your pocket, swipe it open and then the icons are jumping around from landscape to portrait. I want them in a fixed position for quick access. I also don't like it going at 90 or 360 degree angles. Portrait and landscape are the only orientations I want to see.
     
  10. flameboy

    flameboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The XOOM has 1GB of ram and I definitely can feel it. There's nothing like switching from a 3D game to a multi-tabbed browser session then over to youtube then back to your game. Really makes the device feel like a powerful computer.
     
  11. BleedingPurist

    BleedingPurist Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  12. Maverick0984

    Maverick0984 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    No, you are absolutely correct. Modern OS's PC's have been doing this for years. It started with OSX, Vista got it, and of course Vista. If you actually look at your free RAM, it is very very small because the OS is keeping things in RAM to make common things load faster.

    I'm not sure where people got this notion that free RAM equals a good thing in Android. Some sort of dated Windows XP mentality I guess.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 3 slide not smooth

,

pac man