The "Got my D3"/ first impressions thread

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by Stevelord, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. Stevelord

    Stevelord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    RAM is showing

    216MB used / 151MB free
     
  2. n8sco

    n8sco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I love mine so far. Definitely feels like a proper progression from my D1. I'm pleased. The only issue I'm having is trying to get used to motoblur since I've been used to stock android.
     
  3. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,104
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,404
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    I don't think the issue was the RAM but the memory management of the Tegra2 processor....hence Motos quick switch to the OMAP for the D3 and Bionic.

    But we will see. Hoping the reviews come in soon as well.

    sent from somewhere...
     
  4. Stevelord

    Stevelord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not noticing any hiccups so far. YouTube streams fast and looks great.

    Will try some Teamviewer and SplashTop action.
     
  5. JesterMX6

    JesterMX6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    that doesn't seem right. which app are you using to monitor?
     
  6. Stevelord

    Stevelord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    That's the built in MANAGE APPS section, when I click the RUNNING tab. Lists processes and services.
     
  7. Maverick0984

    Maverick0984 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just got mine!!! Looks pretty sexy.

    Quick Observations:
    1. Does seem large though, can't imagine trying to fit an even larger screen in my pocket.
    2. Thank god for no silly plated plastic buttons that chip off like the camera button did on my OG Droid.
    3. Back cover reminds me more of HTC type battery covers then my OG Droid.
    4. The slider is definitely a little tougher than my OG Droid, but not bad at all. I think part of it is it being thinner, so it almost feels more difficult to find the spot to start the sliding, if that makes sense. Just a difference to get used to. Not really a pro or con.
     
    #31 Maverick0984, Jul 8, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  8. JesterMX6

    JesterMX6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    download android system info from the market and see what it says for ram.
     
  9. Immolate

    Immolate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quadrant is a respectable 2423, that's stock out of the box. Got the phone maybe an hour ago.

    As to pentile display, it is noticeable when there are small, white letters on the screen. Haven't noticed it anywhere else yet. I can see the "tiles" when I look really close but not when I'm looking at it from a foot away.
     
  10. woodyman

    woodyman Senior Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +4
    Im loving it got mine around 11:40 activated and now just playing around with it, its a great device, and stock android 2.3.4 with the new version of Blur is actually really nice, im very impressed!
     
  11. Stevelord

    Stevelord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. There is so many out there I didn't know which to get.


    RAM 17%
    MAX: 439MB FREE: 77MB

    INTERNAL MEMORY 80%
    MAX 2015.82MB FREE 1626.96MB

    SDCard 99% (This is stock, I did not insert my own SDCard)
    Max: 11626.5MB FREE: 11573.4MB



    Side question. This thing keeps locking after maybe only a minute. But its just the swipe lock. My security lock w/ pin is set to 5 minutes. Is it because its charging? How can I change the swipe lock?
     
    #35 Stevelord, Jul 8, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  12. Big D

    Big D Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So Woody. Can you confirm the amount RAM that Steve cited and did we get definitive status on the bootloader? I'm sure I missed it.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 3 slide not smooth

,

pac man